packages/random.git
14 months agoadd ord insance to splitmix generator datatype master
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Thu, 1 Mar 2018 18:51:20 +0000 (13:51 -0500)] 
add ord insance to splitmix generator datatype

17 months agoNotes / References for constructing a splitmix rng that follows the lea&steele fixes...
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 01:13:33 +0000 (20:13 -0500)] 
Notes / References for constructing a splitmix rng that follows the lea&steele fixes that weren't in the paper but are in the subsequent JDK releases, and are also noted by the PCG algorithm author Melissa ONeil

17 months agosetting up the skeleton for a 1.3 mostly compatible release
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Tue, 26 Dec 2017 01:12:23 +0000 (20:12 -0500)] 
setting up the skeleton for a 1.3 mostly compatible release

17 months agomaking the mangling safe for ghc 8.4 and above
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Mon, 25 Dec 2017 19:19:15 +0000 (14:19 -0500)] 
making the mangling safe for ghc 8.4 and above

18 months agosome formatting cleanup and current task list
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Tue, 7 Nov 2017 01:32:00 +0000 (20:32 -0500)] 
some formatting cleanup and current task list

23 months agoadd vector dependency for now and clean up the permutation code and its representation
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Sat, 3 Jun 2017 20:07:22 +0000 (16:07 -0400)] 
add vector dependency for now and clean up the permutation code and its representation
shifting to unboxed vector for the permutations to improve locality and memory usage

23 months agolots of miscellaneous cleanups
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Thu, 1 Jun 2017 02:58:26 +0000 (22:58 -0400)] 
lots of miscellaneous cleanups

23 months agomy permutations type check but i haven’t tested them for correctness yet :)
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Thu, 1 Jun 2017 02:58:06 +0000 (22:58 -0400)] 
my permutations type check but i haven’t tested them for correctness yet :)

23 months agodesign notes on the permutation algorithm
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Tue, 30 May 2017 02:39:32 +0000 (22:39 -0400)] 
design notes on the permutation algorithm

23 months agocan now uniformly sample any Word64 interval of the form [a,b]
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Tue, 30 May 2017 00:55:31 +0000 (20:55 -0400)] 
can now uniformly sample any Word64 interval of the form [a,b]

23 months agorejection sampling for uniform intervals of smallish integers (those representable...
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Mon, 29 May 2017 21:13:55 +0000 (17:13 -0400)] 
rejection sampling for uniform intervals of smallish integers (those representable via a Word64)

23 months agobasic polar method rejection sampler for normal distribution
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Sat, 27 May 2017 21:07:30 +0000 (17:07 -0400)] 
basic polar method rejection sampler for normal distribution

2 years agoprovisional fast and really sloppy unit interval generator. For basic uses should...
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Fri, 26 May 2017 15:50:44 +0000 (11:50 -0400)] 
provisional fast and really sloppy unit interval generator. For basic uses should be good enough.

2 years agofix case on CHANGELOG.md
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Sun, 21 May 2017 20:08:11 +0000 (16:08 -0400)] 
fix case on CHANGELOG.md

2 years agofixed up file names
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Sun, 21 May 2017 19:02:31 +0000 (15:02 -0400)] 
fixed  up file names

2 years agocorrect the PCG module name to reflect that its the 32bit word sampler.
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Sun, 21 May 2017 18:35:08 +0000 (14:35 -0400)] 
correct the PCG module name to reflect that its the 32bit word sampler.
have a candidate travis file,
added entropy to the dependencies for now (spoke with TomMD and we agreed that they should be combined sometime)
started work on basic distribution generation tools

2 years agoformmatting tweaks to splitmix code plus enabling wall
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Mon, 17 Apr 2017 19:16:33 +0000 (15:16 -0400)] 
formmatting tweaks to splitmix code plus enabling wall

2 years agoAdd PCG internal module
Christopher Chalmers [Sat, 18 Feb 2017 22:13:25 +0000 (22:13 +0000)] 
Add PCG internal module

2 years agobasic sampler values
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Fri, 10 Feb 2017 19:57:43 +0000 (14:57 -0500)] 
basic sampler values

2 years agodrop comments
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Fri, 10 Feb 2017 19:48:28 +0000 (14:48 -0500)] 
drop comments

2 years agoRandomT in the style of s -> m (a,s) is working
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Fri, 10 Feb 2017 19:46:57 +0000 (14:46 -0500)] 
RandomT in the style of s -> m (a,s) is working

2 years agoinitial attempt to see how far i could get with s -> (# m a , s #) monad flavor
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Fri, 10 Feb 2017 19:15:22 +0000 (14:15 -0500)] 
initial attempt to see how far i could get with  s -> (# m a , s #) monad flavor
thats impossible, so switchign to s -> m (a,s) flavor

2 years agopure Splitmix implementation v2
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Sun, 15 Jan 2017 15:30:12 +0000 (10:30 -0500)] 
pure Splitmix implementation

2 years agoversion 2.0 of random begins
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Sun, 15 Jan 2017 19:43:11 +0000 (14:43 -0500)] 
version 2.0 of random begins

3 years agoMerge pull request #33 from thomie/master
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Wed, 20 Jan 2016 16:36:29 +0000 (11:36 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #33 from thomie/master

Fix for GHC testsuite

3 years agoGHC testsuite: require random to be installed
Thomas Miedema [Wed, 20 Jan 2016 15:35:06 +0000 (16:35 +0100)] 
GHC testsuite: require random to be installed

3 years agoMerge pull request #24 from frankcash/patch-1
Edward Kmett [Fri, 31 Jul 2015 15:22:54 +0000 (11:22 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #24 from frankcash/patch-1

Update README.md

3 years agoMerge pull request #22 from hvr/pr-detab
Edward Kmett [Fri, 31 Jul 2015 15:22:37 +0000 (11:22 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #22 from hvr/pr-detab

detab

4 years agoMake benchmark build and add benchmark for tf-random.
Dominic Steinitz [Sat, 4 Apr 2015 17:25:33 +0000 (18:25 +0100)] 
Make benchmark build and add benchmark for tf-random.

4 years agoAdd some tests demonstrating https://github.com/haskell/random/issues/25.
Dominic Steinitz [Sat, 4 Apr 2015 16:29:03 +0000 (17:29 +0100)] 
Add some tests demonstrating https://github.com/haskell/random/issues/25.

4 years agoUpdate README.md
Frank Cash [Fri, 13 Mar 2015 03:04:47 +0000 (23:04 -0400)] 
Update README.md

Updates Haskell 98 link

4 years agoSet GitHub's Git repo as primary repo
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 21 Dec 2014 09:45:03 +0000 (10:45 +0100)] 
Set GitHub's Git repo as primary repo

4 years agoM-x delete-trailing-whitespace & M-x untabify
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 21 Dec 2014 09:43:15 +0000 (10:43 +0100)] 
M-x delete-trailing-whitespace & M-x untabify

4 years agoset maintainer v1.1
Edward Kmett [Tue, 16 Sep 2014 21:34:25 +0000 (17:34 -0400)] 
set maintainer

4 years agoMerge pull request #19 from mainland/master
Edward Kmett [Tue, 16 Sep 2014 21:03:24 +0000 (17:03 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #19 from mainland/master

Fix compilation with GHC HEAD.

4 years agoMerge pull request #18 from cartazio/master
Edward Kmett [Tue, 16 Sep 2014 20:25:35 +0000 (16:25 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #18 from cartazio/master

naive extra-files bits

4 years agoFix unused import warning.
Geoffrey Mainland [Tue, 16 Sep 2014 15:57:35 +0000 (11:57 -0400)] 
Fix unused import warning.

4 years agoHide empty when importing Control.Monad.
Geoffrey Mainland [Tue, 16 Sep 2014 15:56:31 +0000 (11:56 -0400)] 
Hide empty when importing Control.Monad.

This is need for compatibility with AMP since Control.Monad now exports
empty.

4 years agonaive extra files bits
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Tue, 16 Sep 2014 01:53:10 +0000 (21:53 -0400)] 
naive extra files bits

4 years agoMerge pull request #16 from cartazio/master
Edward Kmett [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 22:02:41 +0000 (18:02 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #16 from cartazio/master

adding more changes to the change log

4 years agoadding more changes to the change log
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 21:46:04 +0000 (17:46 -0400)] 
adding more changes to the change log

4 years agoMerge pull request #15 from cartazio/master
Edward Kmett [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 19:50:07 +0000 (15:50 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #15 from cartazio/master

prepping for the 1.1 fixup release

4 years agoMerge pull request #9 from bgamari/master
Edward Kmett [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 18:53:25 +0000 (14:53 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #9 from bgamari/master

rangeTest: Fix type for "CSigAtomic R" test

4 years agoprepping for the 1.1 fixup release
Carter Tazio Schonwald [Mon, 15 Sep 2014 18:42:59 +0000 (14:42 -0400)] 
prepping for the 1.1 fixup release

1) still need to merge in  https://github.com/haskell/random/pull/9
2) should we force -O2 in the ghcoptions? (its currently set that way, but is that a good idea/needed here?)

4 years agoMerge pull request #12 from 23Skidoo/unbreak-ghc-7.4
Edward Kmett [Mon, 25 Aug 2014 15:25:49 +0000 (11:25 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #12 from 23Skidoo/unbreak-ghc-7.4

Support base < 4.6 / GHC 7.4.

4 years agoSupport base < 4.6 / GHC 7.4.
Mikhail Glushenkov [Sat, 23 Aug 2014 18:55:31 +0000 (20:55 +0200)] 
Support base < 4.6 / GHC 7.4.

Fixes #10.

4 years agoAdd Travis icon.
Mikhail Glushenkov [Sat, 23 Aug 2014 19:19:50 +0000 (21:19 +0200)] 
Add Travis icon.

4 years agoUpdate .gitignore.
Mikhail Glushenkov [Sat, 23 Aug 2014 19:16:43 +0000 (21:16 +0200)] 
Update .gitignore.

4 years agoAdd .travis.yml.
Mikhail Glushenkov [Sat, 23 Aug 2014 19:15:48 +0000 (21:15 +0200)] 
Add .travis.yml.

4 years agorangeTest: Fix type for "CSigAtomic R" test
Ben Gamari [Fri, 22 Aug 2014 21:41:42 +0000 (17:41 -0400)] 
rangeTest: Fix type for "CSigAtomic R" test

4 years agoBump version for various bugfixes
Ryan Newton [Fri, 22 Aug 2014 19:52:30 +0000 (15:52 -0400)] 
Bump version for various bugfixes

4 years agoMerge pull request #5 from bgamari/master
Ryan Newton [Fri, 22 Aug 2014 19:50:01 +0000 (15:50 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #5 from bgamari/master

rangeTest: Fix signed-ness of types

4 years agoMerge pull request #6 from thomie/master
Ryan Newton [Fri, 22 Aug 2014 19:49:08 +0000 (15:49 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #6 from thomie/master

Update README + issue tracker link in cabal file

4 years agoMerge pull request #7 from thomie/T8899
Ryan Newton [Fri, 22 Aug 2014 19:49:01 +0000 (15:49 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #7 from thomie/T8899

Fix for ghc ticket #8899: StdGen does not generate 0

4 years agoMerge pull request #8 from thomie/memory-leaks
Ryan Newton [Fri, 22 Aug 2014 19:48:56 +0000 (15:48 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #8 from thomie/memory-leaks

Fix for memory leaks (GHC #7936 and #4218)

4 years agoRevert "rangeTest fails on Windows (#7379)"
Ben Gamari [Tue, 19 Aug 2014 20:02:23 +0000 (16:02 -0400)] 
Revert "rangeTest fails on Windows (#7379)"

This reverts commit 2117e38729adaa4f465f3c5b7a8c5c4d77702d3f.

We no longer assume that C types are unsigned.

4 years agorangeTest: Fix signed-ness of types
Ben Gamari [Sat, 22 Mar 2014 14:29:45 +0000 (15:29 +0100)] 
rangeTest: Fix signed-ness of types

On some architectures types like CChar are signed whereas the use previously
assumed they were unsigned. Fix this by relying on Bounded instances where
possible.

4 years agoUse strict fields for StdGen (GHC #7936)
Thomas Miedema [Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:56:17 +0000 (20:56 +0200)] 
Use strict fields for StdGen (GHC #7936)

4 years agoUse atomicModifyIORef' (strict) (GHC #4218)
Thomas Miedema [Thu, 10 Jul 2014 19:01:44 +0000 (21:01 +0200)] 
Use atomicModifyIORef' (strict) (GHC #4218)

4 years agoMake TestRandomRs (GHC #4218) fast and add to cabal file
Thomas Miedema [Tue, 1 Jul 2014 14:28:57 +0000 (16:28 +0200)] 
Make TestRandomRs (GHC #4218) fast and add to cabal file

4 years agoCleanup + add comments
Thomas Miedema [Tue, 8 Jul 2014 12:32:26 +0000 (14:32 +0200)] 
Cleanup + add comments

Fixme reverred to formatting of comments, which was done in
24260b389852ab109de6b62822d889d0e66ae723

4 years agoThe lowest int generated by StdGen is 1. Fixes ghc #8899.
Thomas Miedema [Tue, 8 Jul 2014 12:06:40 +0000 (14:06 +0200)] 
The lowest int generated by StdGen is 1. Fixes ghc #8899.

This follows from the following line in the function stdNext
(z' is the next generated Int):

    z' = if z < 1 then z + 2147483562 else z

4 years agoUpdate README + issue tracker link in cabal file
Thomas Miedema [Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:38:24 +0000 (15:38 +0200)] 
Update README + issue tracker link in cabal file

5 years agoMerge pull request #4 from NovaDenizen/master
Ryan Newton [Fri, 28 Mar 2014 20:01:01 +0000 (16:01 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #4 from NovaDenizen/master

fix for randomIvalInteger, ghc #8898

5 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'remotes/downstream/master'
Ryan Newton [Fri, 28 Mar 2014 19:53:29 +0000 (15:53 -0400)] 
Merge remote-tracking branch 'remotes/downstream/master'

Conflicts:
.gitignore

5 years agofix for randomIvalInteger, ghc #8898
Ken Bateman [Sat, 22 Mar 2014 20:42:44 +0000 (20:42 +0000)] 
fix for randomIvalInteger, ghc #8898

5 years agoVersion bump to go with prev
Ryan Newton [Wed, 5 Feb 2014 06:17:13 +0000 (01:17 -0500)] 
Version bump to go with prev

5 years agoMerge branch 'master' of github.com:haskell/random
Ryan Newton [Tue, 4 Feb 2014 21:25:26 +0000 (16:25 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'master' of github.com:haskell/random

5 years agoUse GHC.Exts.build in randoms, randomRs to achieve fusion
Johan Kiviniemi [Sun, 26 Jan 2014 12:59:55 +0000 (14:59 +0200)] 
Use GHC.Exts.build in randoms, randomRs to achieve fusion

5 years agoMerge pull request #3 from thapakrish/master
Ryan Newton [Tue, 4 Feb 2014 21:17:01 +0000 (13:17 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #3 from thapakrish/master

Edited readme

5 years agoMerge pull request #2 from pcapriotti/master
Ryan Newton [Tue, 4 Feb 2014 21:16:24 +0000 (13:16 -0800)] 
Merge pull request #2 from pcapriotti/master

Add .gitignore

5 years agoUpdate Git repo URL in `.cabal` file
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Wed, 11 Sep 2013 13:15:01 +0000 (15:15 +0200)] 
Update Git repo URL in `.cabal` file

6 years agoUpdated link
Krishna Thapa [Mon, 29 Apr 2013 06:12:25 +0000 (01:12 -0500)] 
Updated link

6 years agoAdd .gitignore
Gabor Greif [Tue, 26 Feb 2013 21:10:47 +0000 (22:10 +0100)] 
Add .gitignore

6 years agoFollow changes in the testsuite
Ian Lynagh [Mon, 11 Feb 2013 14:11:34 +0000 (14:11 +0000)] 
Follow changes in the testsuite

6 years agorangeTest fails on Windows (#7379)
Ian Lynagh [Sun, 3 Feb 2013 16:28:55 +0000 (16:28 +0000)] 
rangeTest fails on Windows (#7379)

7 years agoAdd .gitignore.
Paolo Capriotti [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 10:57:35 +0000 (10:57 +0000)] 
Add .gitignore.

7 years agoMinor: comments only random-1.0.1.1-release
Ryan Newton [Tue, 6 Dec 2011 20:07:53 +0000 (15:07 -0500)] 
Minor: comments only

7 years agoMinor, Binsearch documentation update. TODO: Should move to using submodule for...
Ryan Newton [Mon, 14 Nov 2011 15:21:53 +0000 (10:21 -0500)] 
Minor, Binsearch documentation update.  TODO: Should move to using submodule for this.

7 years agoMinor: change the comments to refer to the correct LICENSE file. ghc-7.4
Ryan Newton [Sat, 22 Oct 2011 10:01:00 +0000 (06:01 -0400)] 
Minor: change the comments to refer to the correct LICENSE file.

7 years agoFix test following removal of Num's superclasses
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Oct 2011 17:02:26 +0000 (18:02 +0100)] 
Fix test following removal of Num's superclasses

7 years agoFixed bug in Ticket 5501. But there appears to be a significant performance regressi...
Ryan Newton [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 05:54:44 +0000 (01:54 -0400)] 
Fixed bug in Ticket 5501.  But there appears to be a significant performance regression that warrants further investigation.

7 years agoFixed benchmark script to NOT use splittableGen
Ryan Newton [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 05:53:58 +0000 (01:53 -0400)] 
Fixed benchmark script to NOT use splittableGen

7 years agominor: DEVLOG comments
Ryan Newton [Fri, 30 Sep 2011 05:17:37 +0000 (01:17 -0400)] 
minor: DEVLOG comments

7 years agoBumped version for recent bugfixes but disabled SplittableGen for now.
Ryan Newton [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 15:14:45 +0000 (11:14 -0400)] 
Bumped version for recent bugfixes but disabled SplittableGen for now.

7 years agoMerge pull request #1 from dterei/master
Ryan Newton [Tue, 9 Aug 2011 03:51:50 +0000 (20:51 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #1 from dterei/master

Patch for random to use Safe Haskell

7 years agoUse Safe Haskell for GHC >= 7.2
David Terei [Thu, 4 Aug 2011 21:03:48 +0000 (14:03 -0700)] 
Use Safe Haskell for GHC >= 7.2

7 years agoCleaned up the previous change, removing commented line and all reference to opts.
Ryan Newton [Thu, 28 Jul 2011 21:00:27 +0000 (17:00 -0400)] 
Cleaned up the previous change, removing commented line and all reference to opts.

7 years agoDisabled opts line that causes data races.
Ryan Newton [Mon, 25 Jul 2011 21:42:12 +0000 (17:42 -0400)] 
Disabled opts line that causes data races.

7 years agoAdding the simple speed test from ticket #427.
Ryan Newton [Tue, 28 Jun 2011 18:25:45 +0000 (14:25 -0400)] 
Adding the simple speed test from ticket #427.

7 years agoAdded currently unworking test from ticket 4218.
Ryan Newton [Tue, 28 Jun 2011 17:44:56 +0000 (13:44 -0400)] 
Added currently unworking test from ticket 4218.

7 years agoThe tests are failing with stack overflow on large random Integers (2^5000). This...
Ryan Newton [Tue, 28 Jun 2011 14:43:22 +0000 (10:43 -0400)] 
The tests are failing with stack overflow on large random Integers (2^5000).  This represents a genuine problem, but for now I'm commenting out the relevant tests to get things passing.  This problem and several others are fixed on the new_api branch.

7 years agoAdded tests and benchmarks for BIG Integers.
Ryan Newton [Tue, 28 Jun 2011 14:07:45 +0000 (10:07 -0400)] 
Added tests and benchmarks for BIG Integers.

7 years agoAdded README.md for github.
Ryan Newton [Tue, 28 Jun 2011 05:10:31 +0000 (01:10 -0400)] 
Added README.md for github.

7 years agoExtended rangeTest to handle some more corner cases.
Ryan Newton [Tue, 28 Jun 2011 05:06:21 +0000 (01:06 -0400)] 
Extended rangeTest to handle some more corner cases.

7 years agoUpdated rangeTest to test randomR as well as random.
Ryan Newton [Tue, 28 Jun 2011 04:11:41 +0000 (00:11 -0400)] 
Updated rangeTest to test randomR as well as random.

7 years agoAdded a new test to check the range on each type\'s Random instance.
Ryan Newton [Tue, 28 Jun 2011 03:41:20 +0000 (23:41 -0400)] 
Added a new test to check the range on each type\'s Random instance.

7 years agoConverted Float/Double randomR methods to simply use the existing random methods...
Ryan Newton [Mon, 27 Jun 2011 17:38:38 +0000 (13:38 -0400)] 
Converted Float/Double randomR methods to simply use the existing random methods to generate a coefficient.

7 years agoMinor: using unsafeDupablePerformIO to be more fair to MWC.
Ryan Newton [Mon, 27 Jun 2011 03:51:11 +0000 (23:51 -0400)] 
Minor: using unsafeDupablePerformIO to be more fair to MWC.

7 years agoRearranged module organization for Benchmark. Added Makefile and more comparison...
Ryan Newton [Mon, 27 Jun 2011 03:47:13 +0000 (23:47 -0400)] 
Rearranged module organization for Benchmark.  Added Makefile and more comparison against other RNGs on hackage.