Cleanup + add comments
authorThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Tue, 8 Jul 2014 12:32:26 +0000 (14:32 +0200)
committerThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Tue, 8 Jul 2014 13:57:00 +0000 (15:57 +0200)
Fixme reverred to formatting of comments, which was done in
24260b389852ab109de6b62822d889d0e66ae723

System/Random.hs

index defb8e4..cebcccf 100644 (file)
@@ -244,6 +244,11 @@ should be likely to produce distinct generators.
 mkStdGen :: Int -> StdGen -- why not Integer ?
 mkStdGen s = mkStdGen32 $ fromIntegral s
 
+{-
+From ["System.Random\#LEcuyer"]: "The integer variables s1 and s2 ... must be
+initialized to values in the range [1, 2147483562] and [1, 2147483398]
+respectively."
+-}
 mkStdGen32 :: Int32 -> StdGen
 mkStdGen32 sMaybeNegative = StdGen (s1+1) (s2+1)
       where
@@ -256,8 +261,6 @@ mkStdGen32 sMaybeNegative = StdGen (s1+1) (s2+1)
 createStdGen :: Integer -> StdGen
 createStdGen s = mkStdGen32 $ fromIntegral s
 
--- FIXME: 1/2/3 below should be ** (vs@30082002) XXX
-
 {- |
 With a source of random number supply in hand, the 'Random' class allows the
 programmer to extract random values of a variety of types.
@@ -491,7 +494,7 @@ randomIvalDouble (l,h) fromDouble rng
            (scaled_x, rng')
 
 int32Count :: Integer
-int32Count = toInteger (maxBound::Int32) - toInteger (minBound::Int32) + 1
+int32Count = toInteger (maxBound::Int32) - toInteger (minBound::Int32) + 1  -- GHC ticket #3982
 
 stdRange :: (Int,Int)
 stdRange = (1, 2147483562)