packages/hoopl.git
7 years agoBump version ghc-7.4 ghc-7.4.1-release ghc-7.4.2-release hoopl-3.8.7.3-release
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 20 Dec 2011 14:30:36 +0000 (14:30 +0000)] 
Bump version

7 years agoAdd a kind annotation on Graph'
Simon Peyton Jones [Mon, 22 Aug 2011 07:47:05 +0000 (08:47 +0100)] 
Add a kind annotation on Graph'

  data Graph' block (n :: * -> * -> *) e x where
    GNil  :: Graph' block n O O
    GUnit :: block n O O -> Graph' block n O O
    GMany :: MaybeO e (block n O C)

We want the kind annotation so we can get the the right kind for
Graph' without looking at its *uses*, as Haskell dictates (Report
section 4.6), and (now that we are extending the kind system) GHC is
going to do.

Previously GHC was a bit more forgiving, in a non-standard way.

7 years agoFix safe haskell issue with ghc 7.2.1
David Terei [Tue, 16 Aug 2011 22:27:04 +0000 (15:27 -0700)] 
Fix safe haskell issue with ghc 7.2.1

We can't rely on the containers package using Safe Haskell
yet, so must have XUtil be Trustworthy, not Safe.

7 years agoUpdate hoopl to use Safe Haskell if GHC >= 7.2
David Terei [Thu, 11 Aug 2011 00:19:08 +0000 (17:19 -0700)] 
Update hoopl to use Safe Haskell if GHC >= 7.2

7 years agoadded and exported liftFuel method of FuelMonadT
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 22 Jul 2011 19:20:55 +0000 (15:20 -0400)] 
added and exported liftFuel method of FuelMonadT

method runWithFuel remains hidden and should stay hidden

thanks Justin Bailey for the bug report

Signed-off-by: Norman Ramsey <nr@cs.tufts.edu>
7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 18 Jul 2011 18:33:39 +0000 (14:33 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

the 'validate' script appears somewhat broken

7 years agochange from Edward Yang to fix warning
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 18 Jul 2011 18:33:34 +0000 (14:33 -0400)] 
change from Edward Yang to fix warning

8 years agoAdd mapGraph and related functions.
Edward Z. Yang [Tue, 12 Apr 2011 10:04:08 +0000 (11:04 +0100)] 
Add mapGraph and related functions.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
8 years agoFix premature termination of fixpoint iteration.
Edward Z. Yang [Mon, 11 Apr 2011 15:32:28 +0000 (16:32 +0100)] 
Fix premature termination of fixpoint iteration.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
8 years agoMake local signature more restrictive, eliminates incomplete pattern match failure.
Edward Z. Yang [Wed, 30 Mar 2011 11:35:57 +0000 (12:35 +0100)] 
Make local signature more restrictive, eliminates incomplete pattern match failure.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
8 years agochange README to trigger git hook
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 28 Mar 2011 23:32:00 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
change README to trigger git hook

8 years agobump the Cabal package number and upload to Hackage
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 28 Mar 2011 23:29:03 +0000 (19:29 -0400)] 
bump the Cabal package number and upload to Hackage

8 years agoFix warnings.
Edward Z. Yang [Wed, 19 Jan 2011 11:30:44 +0000 (11:30 +0000)] 
Fix warnings.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
8 years agoadded embryonic validate script
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 7 Jan 2011 20:20:33 +0000 (15:20 -0500)] 
added embryonic validate script

8 years agoMake Hoopl work with MonoLocalBinds.
Edward Z. Yang [Sat, 25 Dec 2010 02:26:15 +0000 (21:26 -0500)] 
Make Hoopl work with MonoLocalBinds.

This was achieved by adding GHC-generated type signatures wherever
polymorphism was necessary.  Some of these type signatures are quite
ugly, so someone who is more familiar with the code should specialize
them as appropriate.

8 years agoMove LICENSE file up one level
Simon Peyton Jones [Wed, 18 Aug 2010 10:29:17 +0000 (11:29 +0100)] 
Move LICENSE file up one level

8 years agoAdd the location of the src/ directory to hoopl.cabal
Simon Peyton Jones [Fri, 13 Aug 2010 15:55:06 +0000 (16:55 +0100)] 
Add the location of the src/ directory to hoopl.cabal

8 years agoMove hoopl.cabal and Setup.hs from src/ to the root.
Simon Peyton Jones [Fri, 13 Aug 2010 15:47:45 +0000 (16:47 +0100)] 
Move hoopl.cabal and Setup.hs from src/ to the root.
This is where GHC's build system expects them.

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of /home/nr/papers/simon/dfopt
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 20:55:02 +0000 (16:55 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of /home/nr/papers/simon/dfopt

Conflicts:
src/Compiler/Hoopl/Dataflow.hs

8 years agouploaded to Hackage; bumped version number post-upload
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 20:40:42 +0000 (16:40 -0400)] 
uploaded to Hackage; bumped version number post-upload

8 years agorenamed forward 'add' function in Combinators.hs to fadd_rw
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 20:37:38 +0000 (16:37 -0400)] 
renamed forward 'add' function in Combinators.hs to fadd_rw

8 years agoremoved obsolete code from Dataflow.hs
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 20:37:13 +0000 (16:37 -0400)] 
removed obsolete code from Dataflow.hs

8 years agoexpunged BwdRew
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 20:36:52 +0000 (16:36 -0400)] 
expunged BwdRew

8 years agoclean up the typesetting in the appendices
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 20:10:08 +0000 (16:10 -0400)] 
clean up the typesetting in the appendices

(and remove tab characters from the source)

8 years agopreprint version
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 20:09:22 +0000 (16:09 -0400)] 
preprint version

8 years agoText version of references as given to Sheridan.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 00:43:29 +0000 (20:43 -0400)] 
Text version of references as given to Sheridan.

8 years agoBuild PS file without appendix.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 00:43:17 +0000 (20:43 -0400)] 
Build PS file without appendix.

8 years agoRealized that classifications could be condensed, condensed them, and added Haskell
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 00:43:00 +0000 (20:43 -0400)] 
Realized that classifications could be condensed, condensed them, and added Haskell

8 years agoadded fixpoint in an appendix (for web version only)
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 00:23:14 +0000 (20:23 -0400)] 
added fixpoint in an appendix (for web version only)

8 years agoCorrected a handful of errors and made a couple dozen irresistible changes.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 23:40:59 +0000 (19:40 -0400)] 
Corrected a handful of errors and made a couple dozen irresistible changes.

8 years agocamera-ready formatting
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 19:17:39 +0000 (15:17 -0400)] 
camera-ready formatting

8 years agofinal spell check
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 19:16:43 +0000 (15:16 -0400)] 
final spell check

8 years agofinal page-breaking and cross-reference
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 19:13:47 +0000 (15:13 -0400)] 
final page-breaking and cross-reference

8 years agofinal revision of discussion section
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 19:13:34 +0000 (15:13 -0400)] 
final revision of discussion section

8 years agoremove noise from bibliography
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 19:13:12 +0000 (15:13 -0400)] 
remove noise from bibliography

8 years agoignore new derived file block.tex
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 18:16:44 +0000 (14:16 -0400)] 
ignore new derived file block.tex

8 years agovery delicate page breaks, good through page 13 at last!
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 18:16:24 +0000 (14:16 -0400)] 
very delicate page breaks, good through page 13 at last!

(and some wordsmithing too)

8 years agodo def/use analysis on \smallfuzzverbatiminput stuff
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 18:16:00 +0000 (14:16 -0400)] 
do def/use analysis on \smallfuzzverbatiminput stuff

8 years agoget implementation of 'block' from the code
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 18:15:43 +0000 (14:15 -0400)] 
get implementation of 'block' from the code

8 years agowordsmithing
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 18:15:10 +0000 (14:15 -0400)] 
wordsmithing

8 years agonow that Figure 5 is correct, make it readable again
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 17:38:06 +0000 (13:38 -0400)] 
now that Figure 5 is correct, make it readable again

8 years agowordsmithing
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 17:37:50 +0000 (13:37 -0400)] 
wordsmithing

8 years agoTinkering with language on page 6 to avoid a ghastly page break on page 7.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 17:25:59 +0000 (13:25 -0400)] 
Tinkering with language on page 6 to avoid a ghastly page break on page 7.

8 years agofixing language in Section 4, but now wrestling with an awful page break
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 17:18:01 +0000 (13:18 -0400)] 
fixing language in Section 4, but now wrestling with an awful page break

8 years agowordsmithing, plus nice page breaks through page 3, but then trouble at the end of...
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 29 Jul 2010 01:47:10 +0000 (21:47 -0400)] 
wordsmithing, plus nice page breaks through page 3, but then trouble at the end of page 4

8 years ago"shape" was defined before use. that's fixed.
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 28 Jul 2010 23:51:34 +0000 (19:51 -0400)] 
"shape" was defined before use.  that's fixed.

8 years agorighteous page-break fu
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 28 Jul 2010 21:07:35 +0000 (17:07 -0400)] 
righteous page-break fu

8 years agoHackage version consistent with paper
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 28 Jul 2010 20:59:26 +0000 (16:59 -0400)] 
Hackage version consistent with paper

8 years agoWording in sections 2 and 3, with attention on a couple of points:
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 28 Jul 2010 20:59:07 +0000 (16:59 -0400)] 
Wording in sections 2 and 3, with attention on a couple of points:

  - don't even suggest that the empty fact is an appropriate
    start fact for constant propagation

  - the example that mentioned loops wasn't a loop

  - point out in section 3.1 that shape is a new thing

8 years agotightening and formatting on page 1
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 28 Jul 2010 20:58:00 +0000 (16:58 -0400)] 
tightening and formatting on page 1

8 years agoLink to full version of entire paper, not to supplement.
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 28 Jul 2010 20:57:35 +0000 (16:57 -0400)] 
Link to full version of entire paper, not to supplement.

8 years agowork with JOhn on discussion section and a few marginalia
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 19:26:44 +0000 (15:26 -0400)] 
work with JOhn on discussion section and a few marginalia

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 19:10:58 +0000 (15:10 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agocategories, subject descriptors, messing with formatting of first page
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 19:10:52 +0000 (15:10 -0400)] 
categories, subject descriptors, messing with formatting of first page

8 years agoComments proposing slash and burn in Discussion
Joao Dias [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 19:01:29 +0000 (15:01 -0400)] 
Comments proposing slash and burn in Discussion

8 years agowibble
Joao Dias [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 19:01:06 +0000 (15:01 -0400)] 
wibble

8 years agoHolding the reader's hand a little more through the rewrite-combinator section
Joao Dias [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 17:10:13 +0000 (13:10 -0400)] 
Holding the reader's hand a little more through the rewrite-combinator section

8 years agoWibbles on last night's commits
Joao Dias [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 15:21:49 +0000 (11:21 -0400)] 
Wibbles on last night's commits

8 years agofiddled some with figures and page breaks
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 04:19:52 +0000 (00:19 -0400)] 
fiddled some with figures and page breaks

there is one truly horrendous page break, but we are under the space limit

8 years agoreformatted and renamed code imported into the paper (no more 'tail')
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 04:12:29 +0000 (00:12 -0400)] 
reformatted and renamed code imported into the paper (no more 'tail')

8 years agomassaged the performance section to make it clear that we are speculating
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 04:12:09 +0000 (00:12 -0400)] 
massaged the performance section to make it clear that we are speculating

8 years agoExpunged FwdGraphAndTail from paper, and with it the last vestige of "sequence of...
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 04:11:24 +0000 (00:11 -0400)] 
Expunged FwdGraphAndTail from paper, and with it the last vestige of "sequence of rewrite functions"

8 years agoStriving for a little more consistency in the presentation of the rewrite model.
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 04:11:01 +0000 (00:11 -0400)] 
Striving for a little more consistency in the presentation of the rewrite model.

8 years agoremoved obsolete marginalia
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 04:10:29 +0000 (00:10 -0400)] 
removed obsolete marginalia

8 years agomore type signatures; careful treatment of FactBAse
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 04:10:01 +0000 (00:10 -0400)] 
more type signatures; careful treatment of FactBAse

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 03:43:38 +0000 (23:43 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agoFixed bug in constant propagation from old 'mkFactBase'
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 03:43:27 +0000 (23:43 -0400)] 
Fixed bug in constant propagation from old 'mkFactBase'

Old code did the wrong thing on

  if x then goto L else goto L;

This should now go correctly to Top.

8 years agoignore new derived file cat.tex
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 03:37:08 +0000 (23:37 -0400)] 
ignore new derived file cat.tex

8 years agocommit reviews
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 03:36:54 +0000 (23:36 -0400)] 
commit reviews

8 years agofix bug in mkFactBase when labels are duplicated in argument list
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 03:36:24 +0000 (23:36 -0400)] 
fix bug in mkFactBase when labels are duplicated in argument list

8 years agoreplaced FwdGraphAndTail with an ordinary pair
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 03:35:52 +0000 (23:35 -0400)] 
replaced FwdGraphAndTail with an ordinary pair

8 years agofix malformed type in rewrite example in paper
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 03:34:15 +0000 (23:34 -0400)] 
fix malformed type in rewrite example in paper

8 years agoSmall Rew module in which we tested rewriting with an algebraic data type
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:58:20 +0000 (22:58 -0400)] 
Small Rew module in which we tested rewriting with an algebraic data type

8 years agoPull the type signature and implementation of 'cat' direct from Dataflow.hs
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:57:41 +0000 (22:57 -0400)] 
Pull the type signature and implementation of 'cat' direct from Dataflow.hs

8 years agoExotic uses of fuel are possible without changing the API (thanks JD)
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:57:06 +0000 (22:57 -0400)] 
Exotic uses of fuel are possible without changing the API (thanks JD)

8 years agotag new defined identifiers
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:56:44 +0000 (22:56 -0400)] 
tag new defined identifiers

8 years agoNo need to export FwdGraphAndTail, we think
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:45:59 +0000 (22:45 -0400)] 
No need to export FwdGraphAndTail, we think

8 years agoPull 'node' signature from Dataflow.hs, also redo 'cat' signature to be consistent...
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:45:38 +0000 (22:45 -0400)] 
Pull 'node' signature from Dataflow.hs, also redo 'cat' signature to be consistent with paper

8 years agocut the paragraph on unique representation
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:44:39 +0000 (22:44 -0400)] 
cut the paragraph on unique representation

8 years agoReplaced \ifcutting with \ifnotcutting
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:44:19 +0000 (22:44 -0400)] 
Replaced \ifcutting with \ifnotcutting

8 years agoMerged the section on edges with the section on NonLocal
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:43:55 +0000 (22:43 -0400)] 
Merged the section on edges with the section on NonLocal

8 years agoextend API figure to include LabelMap, addBlock, blockUnion
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:43:09 +0000 (22:43 -0400)] 
extend API figure to include LabelMap, addBlock, blockUnion

8 years agofix title banner with easy on/off
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:31:49 +0000 (22:31 -0400)] 
fix title banner with easy on/off

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 22:06:59 +0000 (18:06 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agoWibbles.
Joao Dias [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 22:06:50 +0000 (18:06 -0400)] 
Wibbles.

8 years agoquick cut at rewriting
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 22:05:34 +0000 (18:05 -0400)] 
quick cut at rewriting

8 years agoimplemented some \simon things
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:45:23 +0000 (17:45 -0400)] 
implemented some \simon things

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:21:56 +0000 (17:21 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agonotes from call with SImon
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:21:51 +0000 (17:21 -0400)] 
notes from call with SImon

8 years agoPara from Simon in Section 8 about handing off fuel to the user
unknown [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 19:39:37 +0000 (20:39 +0100)] 
Para from Simon in Section 8 about handing off fuel to the user

8 years agofor comparison, a full monadic version of rewrite
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 18:36:38 +0000 (14:36 -0400)] 
for comparison, a full monadic version of rewrite

8 years agothe success continuation could be nicer
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 18:29:16 +0000 (14:29 -0400)] 
the success continuation could be nicer

8 years agoFormal explanation of rewriting via CPS sketch (typechecks)
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 18:24:25 +0000 (14:24 -0400)] 
Formal explanation of rewriting via CPS sketch (typechecks)

8 years agorolled back 3 or 4 of Simon's edits, and cleaned up other stuff (mostly line breaks)
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 17:58:38 +0000 (13:58 -0400)] 
rolled back 3 or 4 of Simon's edits, and cleaned up other stuff (mostly line breaks)

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 17:43:33 +0000 (13:43 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agoFix PDF title
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 17:43:28 +0000 (13:43 -0400)] 
Fix PDF title

8 years agoSmall edits from Simon, adding many \simon notes
Simon Peyton Jones [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 17:09:37 +0000 (18:09 +0100)] 
Small edits from Simon, adding many \simon notes

8 years agorepaired all LaTeX warnings except on page 15 (the supplement)
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 01:52:46 +0000 (21:52 -0400)] 
repaired all LaTeX warnings except on page 15 (the supplement)

8 years agoeliminated all remaining undefined identifiers
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 01:36:20 +0000 (21:36 -0400)] 
eliminated all remaining undefined identifiers

8 years agowibble
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 01:27:17 +0000 (21:27 -0400)] 
wibble