packages/hoopl.git
8 years agoadjusted placement of figures and tables; minor edits in section 3
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 00:00:46 +0000 (20:00 -0400)] 
adjusted placement of figures and tables; minor edits in section 3

8 years agoalign result types in definition of Node (FIgure 1)
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:52:01 +0000 (19:52 -0400)] 
align result types in definition of Node (FIgure 1)

8 years agoPage 2 edits: tightening, typesetting cleanup.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:50:31 +0000 (19:50 -0400)] 
Page 2 edits: tightening, typesetting cleanup.

8 years agoPage 1 edits: tightening, consistent word choice, verbs.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:38:44 +0000 (19:38 -0400)] 
Page 1 edits: tightening, consistent word choice, verbs.

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:30:49 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agoneed to ignore new derived file node.tex
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:30:41 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
need to ignore new derived file node.tex

8 years agoyet another leftover commit from the introduction of 'joinMaps' and 'JoinFun'
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:30:30 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
yet another leftover commit from the introduction of 'joinMaps' and 'JoinFun'

8 years agomore maundering for the discussion section
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:29:53 +0000 (19:29 -0400)] 
more maundering for the discussion section

8 years agostarting to tighten up discussion of the client monad
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:29:41 +0000 (19:29 -0400)] 
starting to tighten up discussion of the client monad

8 years agowordsmithing
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:29:12 +0000 (19:29 -0400)] 
wordsmithing

8 years agoa piece of 'joinMaps' that I missed on an earlier commit
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:28:25 +0000 (19:28 -0400)] 
a piece of 'joinMaps' that I missed on an earlier commit

8 years agochange 'FwdRew' to 'FwdGraphAndTail'
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:27:33 +0000 (19:27 -0400)] 
change 'FwdRew' to 'FwdGraphAndTail'

8 years agoextract 'node' and 'ShapeLifter' from the real code
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:26:36 +0000 (19:26 -0400)] 
extract 'node' and 'ShapeLifter' from the real code

and confirm to Simon's new version of ShapeLifter

8 years agomigrate 'stdMapJoin' into Hoopl as 'joinMaps'
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:24:42 +0000 (19:24 -0400)] 
migrate 'stdMapJoin' into Hoopl as 'joinMaps'

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:34:28 +0000 (16:34 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoInverting the fuel-throttling section to explain the idea before the mechanism
Joao Dias [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:34:19 +0000 (16:34 -0400)] 
Inverting the fuel-throttling section to explain the idea before the mechanism

9 years agowould like long URL but it pushes to 14 pages (for now)
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:34:12 +0000 (16:34 -0400)] 
would like long URL but it pushes to 14 pages (for now)

9 years agolooking at undefined IDs -- found some nasty bugs in the woodwork
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:33:52 +0000 (16:33 -0400)] 
looking at undefined IDs -- found some nasty bugs in the woodwork

9 years agolink to the index
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:12:46 +0000 (16:12 -0400)] 
link to the index

9 years agofix dangling cross-references
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 19:40:15 +0000 (15:40 -0400)] 
fix dangling cross-references

9 years agowibbles
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 19:40:00 +0000 (15:40 -0400)] 
wibbles

9 years agothe referees are always right
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 19:39:41 +0000 (15:39 -0400)] 
the referees are always right

9 years agoimproved and extended discussion section
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 19:34:24 +0000 (15:34 -0400)] 
improved and extended discussion section

9 years agoExpunging "reviewer C" for a sin of omission: not sitting on the committee that accep...
Joao Dias [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 16:29:14 +0000 (12:29 -0400)] 
Expunging "reviewer C" for a sin of omission: not sitting on the committee that accepted this paper.

9 years agowibbles
Joao Dias [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 16:28:02 +0000 (12:28 -0400)] 
wibbles

9 years agoAdd note about Sukyoung's interesting example.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:18:57 +0000 (18:18 -0400)] 
Add note about Sukyoung's interesting example.

9 years agowibbles. even though I'm not British.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:16:54 +0000 (18:16 -0400)] 
wibbles.  even though I'm not British.

9 years agomove discussion of client monad closer to its ultimate destination
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:16:41 +0000 (18:16 -0400)] 
move discussion of client monad closer to its ultimate destination

9 years agothreaded the explanation of vpoiso and fuel a little differently
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:16:20 +0000 (18:16 -0400)] 
threaded the explanation of vpoiso and fuel a little differently

9 years agokeeping timestamps and signatures for now
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:15:24 +0000 (18:15 -0400)] 
keeping timestamps and signatures for now

9 years agochange 'fixpoint' code to show the real thing in the paper
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:15:05 +0000 (18:15 -0400)] 
change 'fixpoint' code to show the real thing in the paper

9 years agothe 'CkpointMonad' is a lie :-)
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:14:34 +0000 (18:14 -0400)] 
the 'CkpointMonad' is a lie :-)

9 years agonew entries in dfopt.bib for new citations (JOHN PLEASE CHECK)
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:14:22 +0000 (18:14 -0400)] 
new entries in dfopt.bib for new citations (JOHN PLEASE CHECK)

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 21:33:47 +0000 (17:33 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoparagraph in intro about why automated debugging is going to be important
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 21:33:10 +0000 (17:33 -0400)] 
paragraph in intro about why automated debugging is going to be important

9 years agocut down the copyright space a little
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 21:32:42 +0000 (17:32 -0400)] 
cut down the copyright space a little

9 years agoMentioning deepFwdRw in the relevant place
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 21:04:43 +0000 (17:04 -0400)] 
Mentioning deepFwdRw in the relevant place

9 years agoRemoved redundancy
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:53:04 +0000 (16:53 -0400)] 
Removed redundancy

9 years agoFormatting code consistently
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:52:37 +0000 (16:52 -0400)] 
Formatting code consistently

9 years agoFactual errors in example
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:52:13 +0000 (16:52 -0400)] 
Factual errors in example

9 years agovarious line edits on para motivating user monad
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:51:54 +0000 (16:51 -0400)] 
various line edits on para motivating user monad

9 years agoReworking first mention of speculative rewrites
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:51:19 +0000 (16:51 -0400)] 
Reworking first mention of speculative rewrites

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 17:41:07 +0000 (13:41 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agosome text motivating the user-defined monad
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 17:41:04 +0000 (13:41 -0400)] 
some text motivating the user-defined monad

9 years agomore guff about why the client has its own monad
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 15:45:46 +0000 (11:45 -0400)] 
more guff about why the client has its own monad

9 years agoA sop to the SSA crowd.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 15:40:07 +0000 (11:40 -0400)] 
A sop to the SSA crowd.

9 years agoA couple of sentences on the most relevant related work requested by reviewer 3
Joao Dias [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 20:58:23 +0000 (16:58 -0400)] 
A couple of sentences on the most relevant related work requested by reviewer 3

9 years agotagged new section in implementation to make it obvious how incomplete it is
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:26:38 +0000 (14:26 -0400)] 
tagged new section in implementation to make it obvious how incomplete it is

9 years agoAdded algebraic law on 'iter' and 'then'
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:23:32 +0000 (14:23 -0400)] 
Added algebraic law on 'iter' and 'then'

9 years agoformatting in mkfile
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:19:30 +0000 (14:19 -0400)] 
formatting in mkfile

9 years agomore error checking in 'xsource' script
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:19:23 +0000 (14:19 -0400)] 
more error checking in 'xsource' script

9 years agoexposed FwdRew and BwdRew constructors. Perhaps we've lost our minds?
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:18:48 +0000 (14:18 -0400)] 
exposed FwdRew and BwdRew constructors.  Perhaps we've lost our minds?

9 years agoreformatted some code for readability
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:18:23 +0000 (14:18 -0400)] 
reformatted some code for readability

9 years agoremoved stray \ifpagetuning
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:17:23 +0000 (14:17 -0400)] 
removed stray \ifpagetuning

9 years agoExplanations about the client monad, including 'checkpoint' and 'restart' (up to...
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:17:12 +0000 (14:17 -0400)] 
Explanations about the client monad, including 'checkpoint' and 'restart' (up to interface section only)

9 years agoswitch to submission format (categories and subject descriptors are still missing)
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:16:20 +0000 (14:16 -0400)] 
switch to submission format (categories and subject descriptors are still missing)

9 years agoCollect shape functions and classes in one place, perhaps for later use.
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 21 Jun 2010 17:14:54 +0000 (13:14 -0400)] 
Collect shape functions and classes in one place, perhaps for later use.

9 years agoadded CheckpointMonad, which is now used in 'fixpoint' and friends
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 17 Jun 2010 17:42:05 +0000 (13:42 -0400)] 
added CheckpointMonad, which is now used in 'fixpoint' and friends

9 years agoadded a new version of fixpoint that might be right
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 16 Jun 2010 18:14:00 +0000 (14:14 -0400)] 
added a new version of fixpoint that might be right

9 years agomigrated withFuel into rewrite functions, with pleasant consequences:
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 16 Jun 2010 18:00:19 +0000 (14:00 -0400)] 
migrated withFuel into rewrite functions, with pleasant consequences:

  - Combinators.hs becomes dramatically simpler

  - Dataflow.hs now exports 'wrapper' functions for rewrites.
    These functions must preserve a subtle invariant called "respecting fuel".
    They are exported to the client but deprecated.

The paper is now in some disarray.

9 years agoscrubbing gunk out of Combinators.hs
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 15 Jun 2010 19:31:13 +0000 (15:31 -0400)] 
scrubbing gunk out of Combinators.hs

9 years agoscrubbed unused code from Combinators.hs
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 15 Jun 2010 19:17:42 +0000 (15:17 -0400)] 
scrubbed unused code from Combinators.hs

9 years agoSimpler constructor interface for rewriting; simpler combinators; fuel in mk[FB]Rewrite3
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 15 Jun 2010 19:16:49 +0000 (15:16 -0400)] 
Simpler constructor interface for rewriting; simpler combinators; fuel in mk[FB]Rewrite3

paper lags behind by a bit

9 years agoadd vertical space to the 'arfGraph' sketch
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 15 Jun 2010 18:24:27 +0000 (14:24 -0400)] 
add vertical space to the 'arfGraph' sketch

9 years agomark package version number in hackage
Norman Ramsey [Sun, 13 Jun 2010 22:53:35 +0000 (18:53 -0400)] 
mark package version number in hackage

9 years agorevision suitable for a web page
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 01:41:24 +0000 (21:41 -0400)] 
revision suitable for a web page

9 years agosubmission draft
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 01:31:32 +0000 (21:31 -0400)] 
submission draft

9 years agoadd missing references to paper-specific bib file
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 01:15:26 +0000 (21:15 -0400)] 
add missing references to paper-specific bib file

9 years agospell check
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 01:11:10 +0000 (21:11 -0400)] 
spell check

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 01:08:03 +0000 (21:08 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoFinal section bullets become italicized headers. The crowd goes wild.
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 01:07:58 +0000 (21:07 -0400)] 
Final section bullets become italicized headers.  The crowd goes wild.

9 years agotypo
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:58:33 +0000 (20:58 -0400)] 
typo

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:52:59 +0000 (20:52 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoparagraph read, note removed
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:52:49 +0000 (20:52 -0400)] 
paragraph read, note removed

9 years agotypo
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:52:19 +0000 (20:52 -0400)] 
typo

9 years agomore performance wibbles
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:50:33 +0000 (20:50 -0400)] 
more performance wibbles

9 years agoperformance wibbles
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:49:09 +0000 (20:49 -0400)] 
performance wibbles

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:28:58 +0000 (20:28 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agovery minor edits
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:28:46 +0000 (20:28 -0400)] 
very minor edits

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:27:50 +0000 (20:27 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoSmall improvements to section 5 (implementation)
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:27:42 +0000 (20:27 -0400)] 
Small improvements to section 5 (implementation)

9 years agoChronological order is our friend.
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:10:39 +0000 (20:10 -0400)] 
Chronological order is our friend.
Redundancy is not.

9 years agotypo
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:51:05 +0000 (19:51 -0400)] 
typo

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:32:36 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoSome cleanup in 5.0 and 5.1
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:32:21 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
Some cleanup in 5.0 and 5.1

9 years agoI don't know why we said 15% in our authors' response, but I'm assuming that's more...
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:32:13 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
I don't know why we said 15% in our authors' response, but I'm assuming that's more accurate than the 10% I pulled out of my ear

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:30:56 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agowent over section 4 with a fine-tooth comb; carefully tuned page breaks
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:30:49 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
went over section 4 with a fine-tooth comb; carefully tuned page breaks

9 years agoinverted pass direction
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:11:19 +0000 (19:11 -0400)] 
inverted pass direction

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:59:39 +0000 (17:59 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years ago2 typos plus a more accurate equivocation
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:59:33 +0000 (17:59 -0400)] 
2 typos plus a more accurate equivocation

9 years agoThe official functions of Hoopl are the 'transfer' and 'rewrite' (not 'rewriting...
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:57:37 +0000 (17:57 -0400)] 
The official functions of Hoopl are the 'transfer' and 'rewrite' (not 'rewriting') functions

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:53:32 +0000 (17:53 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agominor edits in section 3
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:53:22 +0000 (17:53 -0400)] 
minor edits in section 3

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:46:18 +0000 (17:46 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoTrying to give the last section a little more structure. Still a _____ first draft...
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:46:11 +0000 (17:46 -0400)] 
Trying to give the last section a little more structure. Still a _____ first draft, but help wanted.

9 years agoTrying to refocus the last section on the stated goal in the first sentence. Draft...
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:42:07 +0000 (17:42 -0400)] 
Trying to refocus the last section on the stated goal in the first sentence. Draft #0. I dropped some points along the way b/c I didn't think they were sufficiently related to that purpose.

9 years agowordsmithing section 3
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:37:34 +0000 (17:37 -0400)] 
wordsmithing section 3

9 years agothings are open closed 'on' entry/exit, not 'at' entry/exit
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:32:54 +0000 (17:32 -0400)] 
things are open closed 'on' entry/exit, not 'at' entry/exit

9 years agoTightened and removed self-praise from sections 1 and 2.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 20:34:18 +0000 (16:34 -0400)] 
Tightened and removed self-praise from sections 1 and  2.