packages/hoopl.git
8 years agoExotic uses of fuel are possible without changing the API (thanks JD)
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:57:06 +0000 (22:57 -0400)] 
Exotic uses of fuel are possible without changing the API (thanks JD)

8 years agotag new defined identifiers
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:56:44 +0000 (22:56 -0400)] 
tag new defined identifiers

8 years agoNo need to export FwdGraphAndTail, we think
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:45:59 +0000 (22:45 -0400)] 
No need to export FwdGraphAndTail, we think

8 years agoPull 'node' signature from Dataflow.hs, also redo 'cat' signature to be consistent...
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:45:38 +0000 (22:45 -0400)] 
Pull 'node' signature from Dataflow.hs, also redo 'cat' signature to be consistent with paper

8 years agocut the paragraph on unique representation
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:44:39 +0000 (22:44 -0400)] 
cut the paragraph on unique representation

8 years agoReplaced \ifcutting with \ifnotcutting
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:44:19 +0000 (22:44 -0400)] 
Replaced \ifcutting with \ifnotcutting

8 years agoMerged the section on edges with the section on NonLocal
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:43:55 +0000 (22:43 -0400)] 
Merged the section on edges with the section on NonLocal

8 years agoextend API figure to include LabelMap, addBlock, blockUnion
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:43:09 +0000 (22:43 -0400)] 
extend API figure to include LabelMap, addBlock, blockUnion

8 years agofix title banner with easy on/off
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 27 Jul 2010 02:31:49 +0000 (22:31 -0400)] 
fix title banner with easy on/off

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 22:06:59 +0000 (18:06 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agoWibbles.
Joao Dias [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 22:06:50 +0000 (18:06 -0400)] 
Wibbles.

8 years agoquick cut at rewriting
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 22:05:34 +0000 (18:05 -0400)] 
quick cut at rewriting

8 years agoimplemented some \simon things
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:45:23 +0000 (17:45 -0400)] 
implemented some \simon things

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:21:56 +0000 (17:21 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agonotes from call with SImon
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 21:21:51 +0000 (17:21 -0400)] 
notes from call with SImon

8 years agoPara from Simon in Section 8 about handing off fuel to the user
unknown [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 19:39:37 +0000 (20:39 +0100)] 
Para from Simon in Section 8 about handing off fuel to the user

8 years agofor comparison, a full monadic version of rewrite
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 18:36:38 +0000 (14:36 -0400)] 
for comparison, a full monadic version of rewrite

8 years agothe success continuation could be nicer
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 18:29:16 +0000 (14:29 -0400)] 
the success continuation could be nicer

8 years agoFormal explanation of rewriting via CPS sketch (typechecks)
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 18:24:25 +0000 (14:24 -0400)] 
Formal explanation of rewriting via CPS sketch (typechecks)

8 years agorolled back 3 or 4 of Simon's edits, and cleaned up other stuff (mostly line breaks)
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 17:58:38 +0000 (13:58 -0400)] 
rolled back 3 or 4 of Simon's edits, and cleaned up other stuff (mostly line breaks)

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 17:43:33 +0000 (13:43 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agoFix PDF title
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 17:43:28 +0000 (13:43 -0400)] 
Fix PDF title

8 years agoSmall edits from Simon, adding many \simon notes
Simon Peyton Jones [Mon, 26 Jul 2010 17:09:37 +0000 (18:09 +0100)] 
Small edits from Simon, adding many \simon notes

8 years agorepaired all LaTeX warnings except on page 15 (the supplement)
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 01:52:46 +0000 (21:52 -0400)] 
repaired all LaTeX warnings except on page 15 (the supplement)

8 years agoeliminated all remaining undefined identifiers
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 01:36:20 +0000 (21:36 -0400)] 
eliminated all remaining undefined identifiers

8 years agowibble
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 01:27:17 +0000 (21:27 -0400)] 
wibble

8 years agoTided sections 5, 6, and 7
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 01:20:41 +0000 (21:20 -0400)] 
Tided sections 5, 6, and 7

8 years agoIMPORTANT: explanation of rewriting without appeal to the representation
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 00:39:59 +0000 (20:39 -0400)] 
IMPORTANT: explanation of rewriting without appeal to the representation

8 years agoBetter, more consistent examples of why the client gets a monad of its own.
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 00:21:23 +0000 (20:21 -0400)] 
Better, more consistent examples of why the client gets a monad of its own.

8 years agoCorrect (wrong) description of initial facts for constant propagation.
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 00:21:04 +0000 (20:21 -0400)] 
Correct (wrong) description of initial facts for constant propagation.

8 years agobad parentheses! no biscuit!
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 00:20:40 +0000 (20:20 -0400)] 
bad parentheses! no biscuit!

8 years agobetter(?) explanation of the CkpointMonad constraint in 'analyzeAndRewriteFwdBody'
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 00:11:00 +0000 (20:11 -0400)] 
better(?) explanation of the CkpointMonad constraint in 'analyzeAndRewriteFwdBody'

8 years agoadjusted placement of figures and tables; minor edits in section 3
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 24 Jul 2010 00:00:46 +0000 (20:00 -0400)] 
adjusted placement of figures and tables; minor edits in section 3

8 years agoalign result types in definition of Node (FIgure 1)
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:52:01 +0000 (19:52 -0400)] 
align result types in definition of Node (FIgure 1)

8 years agoPage 2 edits: tightening, typesetting cleanup.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:50:31 +0000 (19:50 -0400)] 
Page 2 edits: tightening, typesetting cleanup.

8 years agoPage 1 edits: tightening, consistent word choice, verbs.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:38:44 +0000 (19:38 -0400)] 
Page 1 edits: tightening, consistent word choice, verbs.

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:30:49 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agoneed to ignore new derived file node.tex
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:30:41 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
need to ignore new derived file node.tex

8 years agoyet another leftover commit from the introduction of 'joinMaps' and 'JoinFun'
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:30:30 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
yet another leftover commit from the introduction of 'joinMaps' and 'JoinFun'

8 years agomore maundering for the discussion section
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:29:53 +0000 (19:29 -0400)] 
more maundering for the discussion section

8 years agostarting to tighten up discussion of the client monad
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:29:41 +0000 (19:29 -0400)] 
starting to tighten up discussion of the client monad

8 years agowordsmithing
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:29:12 +0000 (19:29 -0400)] 
wordsmithing

8 years agoa piece of 'joinMaps' that I missed on an earlier commit
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:28:25 +0000 (19:28 -0400)] 
a piece of 'joinMaps' that I missed on an earlier commit

8 years agochange 'FwdRew' to 'FwdGraphAndTail'
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:27:33 +0000 (19:27 -0400)] 
change 'FwdRew' to 'FwdGraphAndTail'

8 years agoextract 'node' and 'ShapeLifter' from the real code
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:26:36 +0000 (19:26 -0400)] 
extract 'node' and 'ShapeLifter' from the real code

and confirm to Simon's new version of ShapeLifter

8 years agomigrate 'stdMapJoin' into Hoopl as 'joinMaps'
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 23:24:42 +0000 (19:24 -0400)] 
migrate 'stdMapJoin' into Hoopl as 'joinMaps'

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:34:28 +0000 (16:34 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agoInverting the fuel-throttling section to explain the idea before the mechanism
Joao Dias [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:34:19 +0000 (16:34 -0400)] 
Inverting the fuel-throttling section to explain the idea before the mechanism

8 years agowould like long URL but it pushes to 14 pages (for now)
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:34:12 +0000 (16:34 -0400)] 
would like long URL but it pushes to 14 pages (for now)

8 years agolooking at undefined IDs -- found some nasty bugs in the woodwork
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:33:52 +0000 (16:33 -0400)] 
looking at undefined IDs -- found some nasty bugs in the woodwork

8 years agolink to the index
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:12:46 +0000 (16:12 -0400)] 
link to the index

8 years agofix dangling cross-references
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 19:40:15 +0000 (15:40 -0400)] 
fix dangling cross-references

8 years agowibbles
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 19:40:00 +0000 (15:40 -0400)] 
wibbles

8 years agothe referees are always right
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 19:39:41 +0000 (15:39 -0400)] 
the referees are always right

8 years agoimproved and extended discussion section
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 19:34:24 +0000 (15:34 -0400)] 
improved and extended discussion section

8 years agoExpunging "reviewer C" for a sin of omission: not sitting on the committee that accep...
Joao Dias [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 16:29:14 +0000 (12:29 -0400)] 
Expunging "reviewer C" for a sin of omission: not sitting on the committee that accepted this paper.

8 years agowibbles
Joao Dias [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 16:28:02 +0000 (12:28 -0400)] 
wibbles

8 years agoAdd note about Sukyoung's interesting example.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:18:57 +0000 (18:18 -0400)] 
Add note about Sukyoung's interesting example.

8 years agowibbles. even though I'm not British.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:16:54 +0000 (18:16 -0400)] 
wibbles.  even though I'm not British.

8 years agomove discussion of client monad closer to its ultimate destination
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:16:41 +0000 (18:16 -0400)] 
move discussion of client monad closer to its ultimate destination

8 years agothreaded the explanation of vpoiso and fuel a little differently
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:16:20 +0000 (18:16 -0400)] 
threaded the explanation of vpoiso and fuel a little differently

8 years agokeeping timestamps and signatures for now
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:15:24 +0000 (18:15 -0400)] 
keeping timestamps and signatures for now

8 years agochange 'fixpoint' code to show the real thing in the paper
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:15:05 +0000 (18:15 -0400)] 
change 'fixpoint' code to show the real thing in the paper

8 years agothe 'CkpointMonad' is a lie :-)
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:14:34 +0000 (18:14 -0400)] 
the 'CkpointMonad' is a lie :-)

8 years agonew entries in dfopt.bib for new citations (JOHN PLEASE CHECK)
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 22:14:22 +0000 (18:14 -0400)] 
new entries in dfopt.bib for new citations (JOHN PLEASE CHECK)

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 21:33:47 +0000 (17:33 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agoparagraph in intro about why automated debugging is going to be important
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 21:33:10 +0000 (17:33 -0400)] 
paragraph in intro about why automated debugging is going to be important

8 years agocut down the copyright space a little
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 21:32:42 +0000 (17:32 -0400)] 
cut down the copyright space a little

8 years agoMentioning deepFwdRw in the relevant place
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 21:04:43 +0000 (17:04 -0400)] 
Mentioning deepFwdRw in the relevant place

8 years agoRemoved redundancy
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:53:04 +0000 (16:53 -0400)] 
Removed redundancy

8 years agoFormatting code consistently
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:52:37 +0000 (16:52 -0400)] 
Formatting code consistently

8 years agoFactual errors in example
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:52:13 +0000 (16:52 -0400)] 
Factual errors in example

8 years agovarious line edits on para motivating user monad
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:51:54 +0000 (16:51 -0400)] 
various line edits on para motivating user monad

8 years agoReworking first mention of speculative rewrites
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 20:51:19 +0000 (16:51 -0400)] 
Reworking first mention of speculative rewrites

8 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 17:41:07 +0000 (13:41 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

8 years agosome text motivating the user-defined monad
Joao Dias [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 17:41:04 +0000 (13:41 -0400)] 
some text motivating the user-defined monad

8 years agomore guff about why the client has its own monad
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 15:45:46 +0000 (11:45 -0400)] 
more guff about why the client has its own monad

8 years agoA sop to the SSA crowd.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 15:40:07 +0000 (11:40 -0400)] 
A sop to the SSA crowd.

9 years agoA couple of sentences on the most relevant related work requested by reviewer 3
Joao Dias [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 20:58:23 +0000 (16:58 -0400)] 
A couple of sentences on the most relevant related work requested by reviewer 3

9 years agotagged new section in implementation to make it obvious how incomplete it is
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:26:38 +0000 (14:26 -0400)] 
tagged new section in implementation to make it obvious how incomplete it is

9 years agoAdded algebraic law on 'iter' and 'then'
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:23:32 +0000 (14:23 -0400)] 
Added algebraic law on 'iter' and 'then'

9 years agoformatting in mkfile
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:19:30 +0000 (14:19 -0400)] 
formatting in mkfile

9 years agomore error checking in 'xsource' script
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:19:23 +0000 (14:19 -0400)] 
more error checking in 'xsource' script

9 years agoexposed FwdRew and BwdRew constructors. Perhaps we've lost our minds?
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:18:48 +0000 (14:18 -0400)] 
exposed FwdRew and BwdRew constructors.  Perhaps we've lost our minds?

9 years agoreformatted some code for readability
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:18:23 +0000 (14:18 -0400)] 
reformatted some code for readability

9 years agoremoved stray \ifpagetuning
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:17:23 +0000 (14:17 -0400)] 
removed stray \ifpagetuning

9 years agoExplanations about the client monad, including 'checkpoint' and 'restart' (up to...
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:17:12 +0000 (14:17 -0400)] 
Explanations about the client monad, including 'checkpoint' and 'restart' (up to interface section only)

9 years agoswitch to submission format (categories and subject descriptors are still missing)
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 18:16:20 +0000 (14:16 -0400)] 
switch to submission format (categories and subject descriptors are still missing)

9 years agoCollect shape functions and classes in one place, perhaps for later use.
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 21 Jun 2010 17:14:54 +0000 (13:14 -0400)] 
Collect shape functions and classes in one place, perhaps for later use.

9 years agoadded CheckpointMonad, which is now used in 'fixpoint' and friends
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 17 Jun 2010 17:42:05 +0000 (13:42 -0400)] 
added CheckpointMonad, which is now used in 'fixpoint' and friends

9 years agoadded a new version of fixpoint that might be right
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 16 Jun 2010 18:14:00 +0000 (14:14 -0400)] 
added a new version of fixpoint that might be right

9 years agomigrated withFuel into rewrite functions, with pleasant consequences:
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 16 Jun 2010 18:00:19 +0000 (14:00 -0400)] 
migrated withFuel into rewrite functions, with pleasant consequences:

  - Combinators.hs becomes dramatically simpler

  - Dataflow.hs now exports 'wrapper' functions for rewrites.
    These functions must preserve a subtle invariant called "respecting fuel".
    They are exported to the client but deprecated.

The paper is now in some disarray.

9 years agoscrubbing gunk out of Combinators.hs
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 15 Jun 2010 19:31:13 +0000 (15:31 -0400)] 
scrubbing gunk out of Combinators.hs

9 years agoscrubbed unused code from Combinators.hs
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 15 Jun 2010 19:17:42 +0000 (15:17 -0400)] 
scrubbed unused code from Combinators.hs

9 years agoSimpler constructor interface for rewriting; simpler combinators; fuel in mk[FB]Rewrite3
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 15 Jun 2010 19:16:49 +0000 (15:16 -0400)] 
Simpler constructor interface for rewriting; simpler combinators; fuel in mk[FB]Rewrite3

paper lags behind by a bit

9 years agoadd vertical space to the 'arfGraph' sketch
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 15 Jun 2010 18:24:27 +0000 (14:24 -0400)] 
add vertical space to the 'arfGraph' sketch

9 years agomark package version number in hackage
Norman Ramsey [Sun, 13 Jun 2010 22:53:35 +0000 (18:53 -0400)] 
mark package version number in hackage

9 years agorevision suitable for a web page
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 01:41:24 +0000 (21:41 -0400)] 
revision suitable for a web page

9 years agosubmission draft
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 01:31:32 +0000 (21:31 -0400)] 
submission draft

9 years agoadd missing references to paper-specific bib file
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 01:15:26 +0000 (21:15 -0400)] 
add missing references to paper-specific bib file