packages/hoopl.git
9 years agoPut more informative timestamp on drafts.
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 21:38:14 +0000 (17:38 -0400)] 
Put more informative timestamp on drafts.

9 years agoNew interface with NewFact and OldFact means new version number.
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 21:37:53 +0000 (17:37 -0400)] 
New interface with NewFact and OldFact means new version number.

Also corrected category.

9 years agoNote known bugs are fixed.
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 21:37:26 +0000 (17:37 -0400)] 
Note known bugs are fixed.

9 years agofix lattice join function so old comes before new,
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 21:37:07 +0000 (17:37 -0400)] 
fix lattice join function so old comes before new,
and we cannot possibly screw it up *again*...

9 years agoAlong with the merge, the name Node was stolen from underfoot.
Joao Dias [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 19:28:22 +0000 (15:28 -0400)] 
Along with the merge, the name Node was stolen from underfoot.

Merge branch 'master' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

Conflicts:
src/Compiler/Hoopl/MkGraph.hs

9 years agoUpdated tests for latest Hoopl.
Joao Dias [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 17:29:35 +0000 (13:29 -0400)] 
Updated tests for latest Hoopl.

9 years agoBug fixes:
Joao Dias [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 17:28:56 +0000 (13:28 -0400)] 
Bug fixes:
- deepFwdRw was an infinite loop
- forwardBlockList and backwardBlockList now
  produce the Labels a block may depend upon,
  so that the fixpoint will correctly know
  when both backward and forward block analyses
  have had their inputs changed.
- fact_extend arguments were reversed again...
- even for unreachable blocks, we need to check
  whether their inputs have changed (they might
  then be reachable!)
- mkFirst is now exported

9 years agobug alert
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 17:10:39 +0000 (13:10 -0400)] 
bug alert

9 years agoprivate module GraphUtil needs to be in source distribution
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 17:10:34 +0000 (13:10 -0400)] 
private module GraphUtil needs to be in source distribution

9 years agoForward -> Fwd
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 17:09:57 +0000 (13:09 -0400)] 
Forward -> Fwd
Backward -> Bwd

9 years agomore operations on LabelSet
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 02:22:17 +0000 (22:22 -0400)] 
more operations on LabelSet

9 years agoexplain version numbering
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 01:49:19 +0000 (21:49 -0400)] 
explain version numbering

9 years agodefine and export
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 01:49:10 +0000 (21:49 -0400)] 
define and export

  changeIf :: Bool -> ChangeFlag

bump minor version number

9 years agothe Node class and its methods need to be exposed.
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 01:35:57 +0000 (21:35 -0400)] 
the Node class and its methods need to be exposed.

9 years ago'mk dist' now does something hopeful
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 00:19:38 +0000 (20:19 -0400)] 
'mk dist' now does something hopeful

9 years agoInclude README and paper in the package.
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 7 Apr 2010 00:18:10 +0000 (20:18 -0400)] 
Include README and paper in the package.

9 years agoeliminated some (but not all) warnings from cabal install.
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 6 Apr 2010 23:32:19 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
eliminated some (but not all) warnings from cabal install.
(Perhaps they were Haddock warnings?)

9 years agoadded instructions for uploading to hackage
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 6 Apr 2010 23:31:50 +0000 (19:31 -0400)] 
added instructions for uploading to hackage

9 years agothe interface has changed (become narrower), so I've bumped the version number.
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 6 Apr 2010 23:10:08 +0000 (19:10 -0400)] 
the interface has changed (become narrower), so I've bumped the version number.

9 years agoClients should not have direct access to these particular GraphUtil.
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 6 Apr 2010 23:09:34 +0000 (19:09 -0400)] 
Clients should not have direct access to these particular GraphUtil.
At some point we will want to export some public graph utilities,
but I think before we can reach that point, there's another fight
about representation in the offing...

9 years agoClients should not be manipulating Fuel directly.
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 6 Apr 2010 23:08:50 +0000 (19:08 -0400)] 
Clients should not be manipulating Fuel directly.

9 years agocabal seems to require a Setup.hs
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 6 Apr 2010 20:53:07 +0000 (16:53 -0400)] 
cabal seems to require a Setup.hs

9 years agoWe now have a BSD license, I think.
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 6 Apr 2010 20:50:48 +0000 (16:50 -0400)] 
We now have a BSD license, I think.

9 years agoinstructinos
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 6 Apr 2010 19:03:31 +0000 (15:03 -0400)] 
instructinos

9 years agodeal with more undefined identifiers
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 22:19:53 +0000 (18:19 -0400)] 
deal with more undefined identifiers

9 years agoLabels as in L3, L7, &c are considered 'trivial'
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 22:19:39 +0000 (18:19 -0400)] 
Labels as in L3, L7, &c are considered 'trivial'

9 years agoan identifier cannot end in a .
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 22:19:24 +0000 (18:19 -0400)] 
an identifier cannot end in a .

9 years agodefined module Compiler.Hoopl, which re-exports everything useful
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 16:53:33 +0000 (12:53 -0400)] 
defined module Compiler.Hoopl, which re-exports everything useful
to the client, which is just about everything *except* the internal
Compiler.Hoopl.GraphUtil (clients should use Compiler.Hoopl.MkGraph
instead).

Also changed version number to 3.7.0.0

  3 -- third major way of doing things
  7 -- Hoopl7.hs
  0 -- major revision number, should change when interface changes
  0 -- minor revision, should change when implementation changes
       in ways visible to clients

9 years agobuild whole paper including appendices
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 16:39:14 +0000 (12:39 -0400)] 
build whole paper including appendices

9 years agoresolve some more undefined identifiers
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 16:39:04 +0000 (12:39 -0400)] 
resolve some more undefined identifiers

9 years agomoving paper stuff into paper subdirectory, part II
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 04:34:33 +0000 (00:34 -0400)] 
moving paper stuff into paper subdirectory, part II

9 years agomove paper files into paper subdirectory
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 04:31:16 +0000 (00:31 -0400)] 
move paper files into paper subdirectory

9 years agoCreated a Cabal file that almost works.
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 02:18:10 +0000 (22:18 -0400)] 
Created a Cabal file that almost works.

9 years agoignore the 'dist' directory derived by Cabal.
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 02:17:57 +0000 (22:17 -0400)] 
ignore the 'dist' directory derived by Cabal.

9 years agoEliminated some compiler warnings.
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 02:17:29 +0000 (22:17 -0400)] 
Eliminated some compiler warnings.

9 years agoReordered parts of the Dataflow module to put interfaces before implementations
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 01:55:28 +0000 (21:55 -0400)] 
Reordered parts of the Dataflow module to put interfaces before implementations

It builds.

9 years agoadded clean target to mkfile and gnu makefile
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 01:50:09 +0000 (21:50 -0400)] 
added clean target to mkfile and gnu makefile

9 years agoAdded a GNU makefile
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 01:47:35 +0000 (21:47 -0400)] 
Added a GNU makefile

9 years agoCreated a mkfile
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 01:46:05 +0000 (21:46 -0400)] 
Created a mkfile

9 years agoSplit Hoopl7.hs into six modules.
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 01:45:27 +0000 (21:45 -0400)] 
Split Hoopl7.hs into six modules.

Added some graph-construction utilities from GHC.

9 years agoadd copy of Hoopl7 back to prototypes subdir
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 00:04:51 +0000 (20:04 -0400)] 
add copy of Hoopl7 back to prototypes subdir

9 years agorename code
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 00:04:36 +0000 (20:04 -0400)] 
rename code

9 years agoClarify and extend acknowledgements.
Norman Ramsey [Sun, 4 Apr 2010 19:13:13 +0000 (15:13 -0400)] 
Clarify and extend acknowledgements.

9 years agoBrought back an important table from the July submission, and fixed page breaks.
Norman Ramsey [Sun, 4 Apr 2010 19:13:01 +0000 (15:13 -0400)] 
Brought back an important table from the July submission, and fixed page breaks.

9 years agoTag the draft for consumption by outsiders.
Norman Ramsey [Sun, 4 Apr 2010 19:12:29 +0000 (15:12 -0400)] 
Tag the draft for consumption by outsiders.

9 years agoacknowledgements!
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 18:23:24 +0000 (14:23 -0400)] 
acknowledgements!

9 years agoadded some more (dubious) notes about RG
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 18:23:15 +0000 (14:23 -0400)] 
added some more (dubious) notes about RG

9 years agogive definitions of gUnit{OC,CO}, which got lost in the rush.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 18:02:40 +0000 (14:02 -0400)] 
give definitions of gUnit{OC,CO}, which got lost in the rush.

9 years agoremove ancient comments which were cluttering up the .tex
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 18:02:16 +0000 (14:02 -0400)] 
remove ancient comments which were cluttering up the .tex

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 17:54:08 +0000 (13:54 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

9 years agominor change to abstract
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 17:53:50 +0000 (13:53 -0400)] 
minor change to abstract

9 years agoConsistency and grammar
Joao Dias [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 10:15:53 +0000 (06:15 -0400)] 
Consistency and grammar

9 years agopossibly a submission!
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 09:24:41 +0000 (05:24 -0400)] 
possibly a submission!

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt
Joao Dias [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:51:20 +0000 (04:51 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

9 years agoMore example moved into section 2 (5am...)
Joao Dias [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:51:13 +0000 (04:51 -0400)] 
More example moved into section 2 (5am...)

9 years agowibbles in final paragraph
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:47:16 +0000 (04:47 -0400)] 
wibbles in final paragraph

9 years agospell check finds half a dozen errors.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:44:04 +0000 (04:44 -0400)] 
spell check finds half a dozen errors.

9 years agorevised section 7 to remove embarrassments.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:40:06 +0000 (04:40 -0400)] 
revised section 7 to remove embarrassments.

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt
Joao Dias [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:30:01 +0000 (04:30 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

9 years agoFixed some textual errors, some grammar, removed redundant lattice explanation, and...
Joao Dias [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:29:39 +0000 (04:29 -0400)] 
Fixed some textual errors, some grammar, removed redundant lattice explanation, and improved the latter lattice explanation

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:28:01 +0000 (04:28 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

9 years agorevisions under pressure
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:27:57 +0000 (04:27 -0400)] 
revisions under pressure

9 years agobib for simon?
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:16:16 +0000 (04:16 -0400)] 
bib for simon?

9 years agocondense section 5, wibbles in 6
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:15:04 +0000 (04:15 -0400)] 
condense section 5, wibbles in 6

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt
Joao Dias [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:02:19 +0000 (04:02 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

9 years agoSeveral minor fixes to section 3
Joao Dias [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 08:02:03 +0000 (04:02 -0400)] 
Several minor fixes to section 3

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 07:55:45 +0000 (03:55 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

9 years agoFix informatino flow in section on lattices
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 07:55:31 +0000 (03:55 -0400)] 
Fix informatino flow in section on lattices

9 years agoFixes through section 2 + s/register/variable/
Joao Dias [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 07:49:27 +0000 (03:49 -0400)] 
Fixes through section 2 + s/register/variable/

9 years agoGADTs need not be cited
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 07:20:17 +0000 (03:20 -0400)] 
GADTs need not be cited

9 years agoreformat fixpoint
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 07:03:33 +0000 (03:03 -0400)] 
reformat fixpoint

9 years agoWibbles in the related-work section, plus a prolix conclusion that is made
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 06:54:12 +0000 (02:54 -0400)] 
Wibbles in the related-work section, plus a prolix conclusion that is made
of paragraphs, not bullets.

9 years agobug fixes to Hoopl7.hs
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 06:53:38 +0000 (02:53 -0400)] 
bug fixes to Hoopl7.hs

9 years agoI came. I saw section 5. I want to delete things.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 05:32:37 +0000 (01:32 -0400)] 
I came.  I saw section 5.  I want to delete things.

9 years agoRemoved a couple of warts in sections 1-4.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 04:32:12 +0000 (00:32 -0400)] 
Removed a couple of warts in sections 1-4.
This version is ready for John to read.

9 years agoTWO functions know about interleaving!
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 03:50:28 +0000 (23:50 -0400)] 
TWO functions know about interleaving!

9 years agoJohn has arrived to save the day.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 03:47:57 +0000 (23:47 -0400)] 
John has arrived to save the day.

Meanwhile, some touching of Section 5.

9 years agoTouched all of section 4, as well as many hyphens and some British spellings.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 2 Apr 2010 02:57:31 +0000 (22:57 -0400)] 
Touched all of section 4, as well as many hyphens and some British spellings.
Wibble, wibble.

9 years agowannabe wibbles
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 21:33:27 +0000 (17:33 -0400)] 
wannabe wibbles

9 years agotitle caps
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 18:41:33 +0000 (14:41 -0400)] 
title caps

9 years agoadded once again for the historical record
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 16:51:00 +0000 (12:51 -0400)] 
added once again for the historical record

9 years agodelete irrelevant comments
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 16:42:49 +0000 (12:42 -0400)] 
delete irrelevant comments

9 years agof1 -> f2 in thenFwd
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 16:42:40 +0000 (12:42 -0400)] 
f1 -> f2 in thenFwd

9 years agoSimon gains du capability!!!!!
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 16:30:19 +0000 (12:30 -0400)] 
Simon gains du capability!!!!!

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 16:23:20 +0000 (12:23 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

9 years agotry to set simon up for Makefile and defuse
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 16:22:59 +0000 (12:22 -0400)] 
try to set simon up for Makefile and defuse

9 years agoI didn't alter these files, but Git is bleating about them. Somehow
Simon Peyton Jones [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 15:35:12 +0000 (16:35 +0100)] 
I didn't alter these files, but Git is bleating about them. Somehow
maybe I've Norman's changes in them?  It's all very puzzling. If this
commit is wrong, back it out.

9 years agoA stab at the final section
Simon Peyton Jones [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 15:20:13 +0000 (16:20 +0100)] 
A stab at the final section

9 years agoMore wibbles
Simon Peyton Jones [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 14:22:46 +0000 (15:22 +0100)] 
More wibbles

9 years agoMore wibbles
Simon Peyton Jones [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 13:59:42 +0000 (14:59 +0100)] 
More wibbles

9 years agoA palpable wibble
Simon Peyton Jones [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 13:47:03 +0000 (14:47 +0100)] 
A palpable wibble

9 years agoFinished section 5; plus stuff on combinators in section 4
Simon Peyton Jones [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 13:44:34 +0000 (14:44 +0100)] 
Finished section 5; plus stuff on combinators in section 4

9 years agoMany Good Things. In particular, I'm getting on with Section 5.
Simon Peyton Jones [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 11:37:21 +0000 (12:37 +0100)] 
Many Good Things. In particular, I'm getting on with Section 5.

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt
Simon Peyton Jones [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 07:44:03 +0000 (08:44 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'master' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt

Conflicts:
dfopt.tex

9 years agoReiterating a point about the presence of an entry or exit
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 04:49:29 +0000 (00:49 -0400)] 
Reiterating a point about the presence of an entry or exit
sequence being deducible from the static type of a graph.

9 years agoDriving an important point right into the ground---the separation of
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 04:48:54 +0000 (00:48 -0400)] 
Driving an important point right into the ground---the separation of
the tricky elements (in the intro, last bullet).

9 years agoNew abstract, with different points of emphasis.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 04:48:24 +0000 (00:48 -0400)] 
New abstract, with different points of emphasis.
See how you like it.

9 years agoSection 3 gets the Ramsey fine-tooth comb.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 04:05:44 +0000 (00:05 -0400)] 
Section 3 gets the Ramsey fine-tooth comb.

Please pay special attention to the new text at the beginning of
section 3.4 and to the accompanying marginal notes.  At issue is
the name of and the explanation for the Link type.

9 years agoconsistent language
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 03:14:11 +0000 (23:14 -0400)] 
consistent language

9 years agomore hyphen corrections;
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 1 Apr 2010 03:12:45 +0000 (23:12 -0400)] 
more hyphen corrections;
American spellings