packages/hoopl.git
9 years agotypo
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:58:33 +0000 (20:58 -0400)] 
typo

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:52:59 +0000 (20:52 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoparagraph read, note removed
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:52:49 +0000 (20:52 -0400)] 
paragraph read, note removed

9 years agotypo
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:52:19 +0000 (20:52 -0400)] 
typo

9 years agomore performance wibbles
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:50:33 +0000 (20:50 -0400)] 
more performance wibbles

9 years agoperformance wibbles
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:49:09 +0000 (20:49 -0400)] 
performance wibbles

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:28:58 +0000 (20:28 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agovery minor edits
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:28:46 +0000 (20:28 -0400)] 
very minor edits

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:27:50 +0000 (20:27 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoSmall improvements to section 5 (implementation)
Norman Ramsey [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:27:42 +0000 (20:27 -0400)] 
Small improvements to section 5 (implementation)

9 years agoChronological order is our friend.
Joao Dias [Sat, 12 Jun 2010 00:10:39 +0000 (20:10 -0400)] 
Chronological order is our friend.
Redundancy is not.

9 years agotypo
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:51:05 +0000 (19:51 -0400)] 
typo

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:32:36 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoSome cleanup in 5.0 and 5.1
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:32:21 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
Some cleanup in 5.0 and 5.1

9 years agoI don't know why we said 15% in our authors' response, but I'm assuming that's more...
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:32:13 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
I don't know why we said 15% in our authors' response, but I'm assuming that's more accurate than the 10% I pulled out of my ear

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:30:56 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agowent over section 4 with a fine-tooth comb; carefully tuned page breaks
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:30:49 +0000 (19:30 -0400)] 
went over section 4 with a fine-tooth comb; carefully tuned page breaks

9 years agoinverted pass direction
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 23:11:19 +0000 (19:11 -0400)] 
inverted pass direction

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:59:39 +0000 (17:59 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years ago2 typos plus a more accurate equivocation
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:59:33 +0000 (17:59 -0400)] 
2 typos plus a more accurate equivocation

9 years agoThe official functions of Hoopl are the 'transfer' and 'rewrite' (not 'rewriting...
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:57:37 +0000 (17:57 -0400)] 
The official functions of Hoopl are the 'transfer' and 'rewrite' (not 'rewriting') functions

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:53:32 +0000 (17:53 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agominor edits in section 3
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:53:22 +0000 (17:53 -0400)] 
minor edits in section 3

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:46:18 +0000 (17:46 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoTrying to give the last section a little more structure. Still a _____ first draft...
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:46:11 +0000 (17:46 -0400)] 
Trying to give the last section a little more structure. Still a _____ first draft, but help wanted.

9 years agoTrying to refocus the last section on the stated goal in the first sentence. Draft...
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:42:07 +0000 (17:42 -0400)] 
Trying to refocus the last section on the stated goal in the first sentence. Draft #0. I dropped some points along the way b/c I didn't think they were sufficiently related to that purpose.

9 years agowordsmithing section 3
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:37:34 +0000 (17:37 -0400)] 
wordsmithing section 3

9 years agothings are open closed 'on' entry/exit, not 'at' entry/exit
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 21:32:54 +0000 (17:32 -0400)] 
things are open closed 'on' entry/exit, not 'at' entry/exit

9 years agoTightened and removed self-praise from sections 1 and 2.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 20:34:18 +0000 (16:34 -0400)] 
Tightened and removed self-praise from sections 1 and  2.

9 years agoUndoing an earlier mis-edit
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 20:14:57 +0000 (16:14 -0400)] 
Undoing an earlier mis-edit

9 years agoMoved the footnote on the liveness/dead-code interleaving into the text in section...
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 18:48:37 +0000 (14:48 -0400)] 
Moved the footnote on the liveness/dead-code interleaving into the text in section 2 where we talk about interleaving. Also moved the paragraph on forwards/backwards before interleaving b/c it kindly introduces liveness and dead-code elim.

9 years agoGrammar and consistency in section 2
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 18:46:58 +0000 (14:46 -0400)] 
Grammar and consistency in section 2

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 18:11:56 +0000 (14:11 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agosmall improvements and consistencies
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 18:11:48 +0000 (14:11 -0400)] 
small improvements and consistencies

9 years agoTighter and tighter---got back under page limit.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 18:11:26 +0000 (14:11 -0400)] 
Tighter and tighter---got back under page limit.

9 years agoNew concluding section.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 18:10:39 +0000 (14:10 -0400)] 
New concluding section.

9 years agogrammar police in section 1
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 17:50:05 +0000 (13:50 -0400)] 
grammar police in section 1

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 17:04:11 +0000 (13:04 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoSome corrections and tweaks in sections 4 and 5.
Joao Dias [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 17:03:38 +0000 (13:03 -0400)] 
Some corrections and tweaks in sections 4 and 5.

9 years agoFirst draft of a short section about performance and design choices that affect it.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 16:33:47 +0000 (12:33 -0400)] 
First draft of a short section about performance and design choices that affect it.

9 years agoTightening fuel section. Discussion of withFuel was wrong before and is still wrong...
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 16:33:21 +0000 (12:33 -0400)] 
Tightening fuel section.  Discussion of withFuel was wrong before and is still wrong now, but less so

9 years agoClarifying (one hopes) some of the new text.
Norman Ramsey [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 16:32:53 +0000 (12:32 -0400)] 
Clarifying (one hopes) some of the new text.

9 years agoFriday's edits from Simon
Simon Peyton Jones [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 12:52:14 +0000 (13:52 +0100)] 
Friday's edits from Simon

9 years agoReformat fixpoint code to 55 columns
Simon Peyton Jones [Fri, 11 Jun 2010 10:08:13 +0000 (11:08 +0100)] 
Reformat fixpoint code to 55 columns

9 years agomany defined and used identifiers
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 23:16:55 +0000 (19:16 -0400)] 
many defined and used identifiers

also some small improvements to the constant-propagation example
and some small cleanups to the paper

9 years agorenamed @joinWithTop'@ to @extendJoinDomain@.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 22:15:30 +0000 (18:15 -0400)] 
renamed @joinWithTop'@ to @extendJoinDomain@.

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 21:47:31 +0000 (17:47 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

Conflicts:

paper/dfopt.tex

9 years agoReworked section on the rewrite function.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 21:45:45 +0000 (17:45 -0400)] 
Reworked section on the rewrite function.

Not necessarily better, but definitely different.

9 years agoclean up the latex source
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 21:45:22 +0000 (17:45 -0400)] 
clean up the latex source

9 years agoresponses to reviewers or promissory notes for same
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 21:44:53 +0000 (17:44 -0400)] 
responses to reviewers or promissory notes for same
(also acknowledge reviewers)

9 years agochanged 'fmap' to 'liftM' where appropriate.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 20:46:24 +0000 (16:46 -0400)] 
changed 'fmap' to 'liftM' where appropriate.

9 years agoMoved the footnote from section 1 to a place where the reader will understand it...
Joao Dias [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 20:46:11 +0000 (16:46 -0400)] 
Moved the footnote from section 1 to a place where the reader will understand it. Also moved the definition of figure 2 to keep it from floating around.

9 years agonotes from reviewer A
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 19:12:38 +0000 (15:12 -0400)] 
notes from reviewer A

9 years agogetting our fact(s) straight
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 19:10:33 +0000 (15:10 -0400)] 
getting our fact(s) straight

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 19:05:59 +0000 (15:05 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoignore more derived files
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 19:05:52 +0000 (15:05 -0400)] 
ignore more derived files

9 years agobug fix: take union of bodies with 'bodyUnion' (detects duplicates)
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 19:05:22 +0000 (15:05 -0400)] 
bug fix: take union of bodies with 'bodyUnion' (detects duplicates)

9 years agofor consistency with paper, don't use Body constructor in Graph
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 19:04:57 +0000 (15:04 -0400)] 
for consistency with paper, don't use Body constructor in Graph

9 years agowibbles
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 18:40:01 +0000 (14:40 -0400)] 
wibbles

9 years ago'body' and its type, and fixpoint's type, are now extracted from source code
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 18:39:42 +0000 (14:39 -0400)] 
'body' and its type, and fixpoint's type, are now extracted from source code
(And we made some imrpovements in fixpoint's type to make the extended
fact transformers more obvious)

9 years agoSome small text improvements
Joao Dias [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 18:32:05 +0000 (14:32 -0400)] 
Some small text improvements

9 years agowibbles and deletions, and a Direction type for fixpoint
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 17:36:54 +0000 (13:36 -0400)] 
wibbles and deletions, and a Direction type for fixpoint

9 years agoMAkefile now builds Figure 5
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 17:36:24 +0000 (13:36 -0400)] 
MAkefile now builds Figure 5

9 years agomoved fuel stuff into a single subsection of the implementation section (thanks John)
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 17:21:08 +0000 (13:21 -0400)] 
moved fuel stuff into a single subsection of the implementation section (thanks John)

9 years agorepair and refactor 'labels and successors' and introduction of NonLocal type class
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 17:10:23 +0000 (13:10 -0400)] 
repair and refactor 'labels and successors' and introduction of NonLocal type class

9 years agoretire the type-synonym experiment for extended fact transformers
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 16:51:02 +0000 (12:51 -0400)] 
retire the type-synonym experiment for extended fact transformers

9 years agorefactor discussion of rewriting functions and combinators that operate on same
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 16:50:43 +0000 (12:50 -0400)] 
refactor discussion of rewriting functions and combinators that operate on same

9 years agoAdd FuelMonad to the API figure
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 16:50:10 +0000 (12:50 -0400)] 
Add FuelMonad to the API figure

9 years agoExpunge the very idea of an 'inner function'.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 01:58:49 +0000 (21:58 -0400)] 
Expunge the very idea of an 'inner function'.

9 years agoaltered Makefile so Simon might get some joy
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 01:44:48 +0000 (21:44 -0400)] 
altered Makefile so Simon might get some joy

9 years agovarious minor revisions
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 01:40:43 +0000 (21:40 -0400)] 
various minor revisions

9 years ago---> revised description of 'arfGraph'; one hopes it's clearer now.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 01:40:11 +0000 (21:40 -0400)] 
---> revised description of 'arfGraph'; one hopes it's clearer now.

9 years agoremoved verbiage about soundness and termination. just the bare facts remain
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 01:39:23 +0000 (21:39 -0400)] 
removed verbiage about soundness and termination.  just the bare facts remain

9 years agointroduce type synonym so that the mapXX functions fit in a column
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 01:08:13 +0000 (21:08 -0400)] 
introduce type synonym so that the mapXX functions fit in a column

9 years ago---> Eviscerate the previous treatment of functions polymorphic in nodes
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 00:59:19 +0000 (20:59 -0400)] 
---> Eviscerate the previous treatment of functions polymorphic in nodes

I've cut the combinator stuff drastically.
At present, there's no need to mention the shape analysis.
If we think it's important, we can put it in, provided
we find something else to take out.

9 years agoTighten shallow versus deep.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 00:57:51 +0000 (20:57 -0400)] 
Tighten shallow versus deep.

9 years agowordsmithing the rewrite function
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 00:57:23 +0000 (20:57 -0400)] 
wordsmithing the rewrite function

9 years agotighten the discussion of the transfer function
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 00:57:08 +0000 (20:57 -0400)] 
tighten the discussion of the transfer function

9 years agoTightened treatment of 'WithTop' a little.
Norman Ramsey [Thu, 10 Jun 2010 00:56:40 +0000 (20:56 -0400)] 
Tightened treatment of 'WithTop' a little.

9 years agotype-class constraint really is 'FuelMonad' not 'HooplM'. Revert, and take this...
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 22:29:50 +0000 (18:29 -0400)] 
type-class constraint really is 'FuelMonad' not 'HooplM'.  Revert, and take this monad off center stage.

9 years agoadd placeholder to try to restore the polymorphism story
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 22:29:01 +0000 (18:29 -0400)] 
add placeholder to try to restore the polymorphism story

9 years agoA bunch of minor edits, plus a start on extracting the end of 4.2 to a new 4.5.
Joao Dias [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 21:09:49 +0000 (17:09 -0400)] 
A bunch of minor edits, plus a start on extracting the end of 4.2 to a new 4.5.

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 19:56:45 +0000 (15:56 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoadd short note about inner functions
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 19:56:36 +0000 (15:56 -0400)] 
add short note about inner functions

9 years agoMore edits from Simon.
unknown [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 19:55:10 +0000 (20:55 +0100)] 
More edits from Simon.

Note particularly FuelMonad --> HooplM

9 years agoResponses to some but not all \simon's.
Norman Ramsey [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 18:24:36 +0000 (14:24 -0400)] 
Responses to some but not all \simon's.

9 years agoTone down wording
unknown [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 17:38:20 +0000 (18:38 +0100)] 
Tone down wording

9 years agoSimons edits to the paper
unknown [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 17:31:27 +0000 (18:31 +0100)] 
Simons edits to the paper

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
unknown [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 15:05:46 +0000 (16:05 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

Conflicts:
src/Compiler/Hoopl/Dataflow.hs

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
Simon Peyton Jones [Wed, 9 Jun 2010 13:36:55 +0000 (14:36 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

Conflicts:
src/Compiler/Hoopl/Dataflow.hs

9 years agoYet another implementation of blockToNodeList, this one using a new fold function...
Joao Dias [Tue, 8 Jun 2010 19:32:24 +0000 (15:32 -0400)] 
Yet another implementation of blockToNodeList, this one using a new fold function, which should be useful for clients that want to produce types that depend on the (unknown) shape of the block.

9 years agoscrub old 'FwdRes' stuff; tests (such as they are) pass
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 8 Jun 2010 19:16:15 +0000 (15:16 -0400)] 
scrub old 'FwdRes' stuff; tests (such as they are) pass

9 years agorefactoring 'fixpoint' and other code for display in paper
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 8 Jun 2010 19:07:58 +0000 (15:07 -0400)] 
refactoring 'fixpoint' and other code for display in paper

9 years agoRenamed some types and functions to simplify explanations that are coming in the...
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 8 Jun 2010 17:54:09 +0000 (13:54 -0400)] 
Renamed some types and functions to simplify explanations that are coming in the paper.

9 years agoFuel was (incorrectly) being consumed even when no rewrite took place.
Norman Ramsey [Tue, 8 Jun 2010 17:41:56 +0000 (13:41 -0400)] 
Fuel was (incorrectly) being consumed even when no rewrite took place.
(Milan must have misunderstood something.)

The type of withFuel has been restored to

  withFuel :: FuelMonad m => Maybe a -> m (Maybe a)

and it consumes fuel only in the 'Just' case.
Also, types 'FwdRes' and 'BwdRes' have been banished;
rather than define another type synonym, we simply
expose the Maybe type.

Along the way, the 'unit' method of class 'ShapeLifter' got changed to
'toBlock'.

9 years agoMerge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight
unknown [Mon, 7 Jun 2010 21:53:42 +0000 (22:53 +0100)] 
Merge branch 'three-eight' of linux.cs.tufts.edu:/r/c--/papers/dfopt into three-eight

9 years agoMinor wibbles
unknown [Mon, 7 Jun 2010 21:53:32 +0000 (22:53 +0100)] 
Minor wibbles

9 years agostarting to describe implementation of 'arfGraph'
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 7 Jun 2010 21:12:52 +0000 (17:12 -0400)] 
starting to describe implementation of 'arfGraph'

9 years agoThe 'Edges' type class is renamed 'NonLocal', and the paper updated accordingly.
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 7 Jun 2010 20:16:12 +0000 (16:16 -0400)] 
The 'Edges' type class is renamed 'NonLocal', and the paper updated accordingly.

9 years agofixed inconsistency; revised note on the fuel monad (it's now shorter!)
Norman Ramsey [Mon, 7 Jun 2010 18:26:05 +0000 (14:26 -0400)] 
fixed inconsistency; revised note on the fuel monad (it's now shorter!)