Add old behaviour of gcd
authorDaniel Fischer <daniel.is.fischer@googlemail.com>
Tue, 17 May 2011 21:04:35 +0000 (23:04 +0200)
committerIan Lynagh <igloo@earth.li>
Sun, 12 Jun 2011 13:36:05 +0000 (14:36 +0100)
The behaviour of gcd was changed to "gcd 0 0 = 0", here we must keep
the haskell2010 behaviour and raise an error.

Prelude.hs

index 38cb3b4..9be6ccf 100644 (file)
@@ -150,7 +150,8 @@ import GHC.Base
 import Text.Read
 import GHC.Enum
 import GHC.Num
-import GHC.Real
+import GHC.Real hiding ( gcd )
+import qualified GHC.Real ( gcd )
 import GHC.Float
 import GHC.Show
 import GHC.Err   ( undefined )
@@ -206,3 +207,12 @@ seq _ y = y
 catch :: IO a -> (IOError -> IO a) -> IO a
 catch = New.catch
 
+#ifdef __GLASGOW_HASKELL__
+-- | @'gcd' x y@ is the greatest (positive) integer that divides both @x@
+-- and @y@; for example @'gcd' (-3) 6@ = @3@, @'gcd' (-3) (-6)@ = @3@,
+-- @'gcd' 0 4@ = @4@.  @'gcd' 0 0@ raises a runtime error.
+gcd             :: (Integral a) => a -> a -> a
+gcd 0 0         =  error "Prelude.gcd: gcd 0 0 is undefined"
+gcd x y         = GHC.Real.gcd x y
+#endif
+