packages/deepseq.git
5 months agoDeclare support for base-4.13 master
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 18 Dec 2018 21:55:05 +0000 (22:55 +0100)] 
Declare support for base-4.13

8 months agoFix typo
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 15 Sep 2018 18:39:17 +0000 (20:39 +0200)] 
Fix typo

8 months agoPrepare for deepseq-1.4.4.0 release
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 15 Sep 2018 20:37:44 +0000 (22:37 +0200)] 
Prepare for deepseq-1.4.4.0 release

8 months agoPoint out compat quirk not captured by since-annotation
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 15 Sep 2018 20:29:10 +0000 (22:29 +0200)] 
Point out compat quirk not captured by since-annotation

...for the TypeRep/TypeCon instances

11 months agoUse GHC 8.4.3 on Travis
Ryan Scott [Sun, 3 Jun 2018 12:02:07 +0000 (08:02 -0400)] 
Use GHC 8.4.3 on Travis

13 months agoUse GHC 8.4.2 on Travis
Ryan Scott [Fri, 20 Apr 2018 17:51:17 +0000 (13:51 -0400)] 
Use GHC 8.4.2 on Travis

13 months agoBump upper bound on base to < 4.13 (#41)
Ryan Scott [Tue, 10 Apr 2018 11:38:42 +0000 (07:38 -0400)] 
Bump upper bound on base to < 4.13 (#41)

See https://ghc.haskell.org/trac/ghc/ticket/15018.

14 months agoAllow HUnit-1.6 to be installed in Travis
Ryan Scott [Tue, 20 Mar 2018 18:59:22 +0000 (14:59 -0400)] 
Allow HUnit-1.6 to be installed in Travis

14 months agoAdd GHC 8.4.1 Travis build
Ryan Scott [Tue, 20 Mar 2018 18:42:25 +0000 (14:42 -0400)] 
Add GHC 8.4.1 Travis build

14 months agoDefine instance NFData TypeRep/TyCon on all versions of base (#40)
Ryan Scott [Tue, 20 Mar 2018 15:20:51 +0000 (11:20 -0400)] 
Define instance NFData TypeRep/TyCon on all versions of base (#40)

14 months agoAdd @since annotation for instance NFData MaskingState, bump minor version
Ryan Scott [Mon, 12 Mar 2018 22:14:57 +0000 (18:14 -0400)] 
Add @since annotation for instance NFData MaskingState, bump minor version

14 months agoAdd NFData instance for MaskingState (#38)
Michael Walker [Mon, 12 Mar 2018 19:30:01 +0000 (19:30 +0000)] 
Add NFData instance for MaskingState (#38)

17 months agoUse GHC 8.2.2 on Travis
Ryan Scott [Wed, 22 Nov 2017 22:04:40 +0000 (17:04 -0500)] 
Use GHC 8.2.2 on Travis

20 months agoBump upper bound on base
Ben Gamari [Thu, 14 Sep 2017 00:06:02 +0000 (20:06 -0400)] 
Bump upper bound on base

2 years agoRefactor and extend documentation v1.4.3.0
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 22 Apr 2017 08:52:39 +0000 (10:52 +0200)] 
Refactor and extend documentation

With the recent new API additions it makes sense to restructure
a bit. Moreoever, this commit augments the new NFData1/NFData2 API
with a few more haddock strings, and extends the introductory examples.

2 years agoMinor optimisation for `<$!!>`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 16 Apr 2017 21:10:19 +0000 (23:10 +0200)] 
Minor optimisation for `<$!!>`

2 years agoFollow-up to bb36922b594d [skip ci]
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 16 Apr 2017 08:41:40 +0000 (10:41 +0200)] 
Follow-up to bb36922b594d [skip ci]

2 years agoReformat and augment changelog entry for 1.4.3
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 16 Apr 2017 08:37:17 +0000 (10:37 +0200)] 
Reformat and augment changelog entry for 1.4.3

[skip ci]

2 years agoHarden Control.DeepSeq.BackDoor
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 16 Apr 2017 08:03:36 +0000 (10:03 +0200)] 
Harden Control.DeepSeq.BackDoor

This makes sure that the compiler has a better chance to warn/complain if
we forget to update the BackDoor module when `base` changes

2 years agoMerge PR #32
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 16 Apr 2017 07:40:13 +0000 (09:40 +0200)] 
Merge PR #32

...this required to update C.D.BackDoor

2 years agoAdd SafeHaskell Backdoor
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 16 Apr 2017 07:25:46 +0000 (09:25 +0200)] 
Add SafeHaskell Backdoor

This was made necessary by #28

This hack reduces the surface-area requiring TRUSTWORTHY annotations

2 years agoMerge PR #28
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 16 Apr 2017 07:10:27 +0000 (09:10 +0200)] 
Merge PR #28

2 years agoDrop support and CPP for GHC 7.0 & GHC 7.2
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 15 Apr 2017 23:30:34 +0000 (01:30 +0200)] 
Drop support and CPP for GHC 7.0 & GHC 7.2

...and add GHC 8.2.1 to CI matrix

2 years agoAdd NFData instance for Foreign.C.Types.CBool
Ryan Scott [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 18:00:08 +0000 (14:00 -0400)] 
Add NFData instance for Foreign.C.Types.CBool

2 years agoAdd NFData{1,2} instances for (:~:) and (:~~:)
Ryan Scott [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 17:56:44 +0000 (13:56 -0400)] 
Add NFData{1,2} instances for (:~:) and (:~~:)

2 years agoAdd GHC 8.0.2 to Travis builds
Ryan Scott [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 17:24:36 +0000 (13:24 -0400)] 
Add GHC 8.0.2 to Travis builds

2 years agoBump HUnit upper version bounds
Ryan Scott [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 17:22:03 +0000 (13:22 -0400)] 
Bump HUnit upper version bounds

2 years agoMerge branch 'pepeiborra-master'
Ryan Scott [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 17:18:03 +0000 (13:18 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'pepeiborra-master'

2 years agoUpdate CHANGELOG for #30
Ryan Scott [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 17:17:42 +0000 (13:17 -0400)] 
Update CHANGELOG for #30

Plus some minor code cleanup

2 years agoAdd NFData instances for Functor Sum and Product
Pepe Iborra [Sat, 8 Apr 2017 09:29:33 +0000 (10:29 +0100)] 
Add NFData instances for Functor Sum and Product

2 years agoAdd NFData and NFData1 instances for Compose
Pepe Iborra [Mon, 27 Feb 2017 20:44:12 +0000 (20:44 +0000)] 
Add NFData and NFData1 instances for Compose

2 years agoExpose NFData instance for Down on earlier versions of base down
Ryan Scott [Mon, 12 Dec 2016 20:22:10 +0000 (15:22 -0500)] 
Expose NFData instance for Down on earlier versions of base

2 years agoAdd NFData1 and NFData2 classes (#21)
Oleg Grenrus [Sun, 20 Nov 2016 19:10:07 +0000 (21:10 +0200)] 
Add NFData1 and NFData2 classes (#21)

* Add NFData1 and NFData2 classes

* Add Changelog entries

* Add Changelog for NFData1/2

* Generate tuple instances for NFData1/2

* Add NFData1 Fixed and Ratio

* Generic NFData1

* Add NFData1 generic deriving docs

* Add |@since 1.4.3.0

* Add NFData1/2 Array instances

* *Var/*Ptr NFData1 instances

2 years agoAdd rwhnf (#22)
Oleg Grenrus [Thu, 17 Nov 2016 19:26:48 +0000 (21:26 +0200)] 
Add rwhnf (#22)

2 years agoAdd strict liftM (#23)
Oleg Grenrus [Thu, 17 Nov 2016 14:39:14 +0000 (16:39 +0200)] 
Add strict liftM (#23)

2 years agoBump upper bound on deepseq
Ben Gamari [Tue, 15 Nov 2016 17:51:47 +0000 (12:51 -0500)] 
Bump upper bound on deepseq

2 years agoRun tests on Travis (#24)
Ryan Scott [Tue, 25 Oct 2016 17:49:58 +0000 (13:49 -0400)] 
Run tests on Travis (#24)

(except for GHC < 7.4)

2 years agoMerge pull request #25 from duairc/patch-1
Eric Mertens [Tue, 25 Oct 2016 16:20:49 +0000 (09:20 -0700)] 
Merge pull request #25 from duairc/patch-1

Added NFData instance for Ordering

2 years agoAdded NFData instance for Ordering
Shane [Tue, 25 Oct 2016 10:09:50 +0000 (11:09 +0100)] 
Added NFData instance for Ordering

2 years agoMinor version bump
Ryan Scott [Tue, 16 Aug 2016 12:31:28 +0000 (08:31 -0400)] 
Minor version bump

2 years agoFix GNFData instance for V1 (#20)
David Feuer [Tue, 16 Aug 2016 12:23:36 +0000 (08:23 -0400)] 
Fix GNFData instance for V1 (#20)

Make `grnf` for `V1` a well-defined function that forces its
(bottom) argument rather than making the function itself bottom.

Fixes #19

3 years agoAvoid past-tense in changelog for consistency v1.4.2.0
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 17:11:10 +0000 (19:11 +0200)] 
Avoid past-tense in changelog for consistency

3 years agoUpdate tested GHC versions
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 17:10:20 +0000 (19:10 +0200)] 
Update tested GHC versions

3 years agoAdd instances for SrcLoc and CallStack
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 16:40:53 +0000 (18:40 +0200)] 
Add instances for SrcLoc and CallStack

3 years agoUpdate changelog for 1.4.2.0 release
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 15:52:19 +0000 (17:52 +0200)] 
Update changelog for 1.4.2.0 release

3 years agoBump HUnit upper bound (#12)
Moritz Kiefer [Sun, 17 Apr 2016 09:54:53 +0000 (11:54 +0200)] 
Bump HUnit upper bound (#12)

3 years agoAdd instances for types formerly provided by `semigroups`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 29 Nov 2015 08:16:14 +0000 (09:16 +0100)] 
Add instances for types formerly provided by `semigroups`

which have moved into `base-4.9`.

Specifically these are for the (new)types:

 - `Data.List.NonEmpty`
 - `Data.Semigroup.Arg`
 - `Data.Semigroup.First`
 - `Data.Semigroup.Last`
 - `Data.Semigroup.Max`
 - `Data.Semigroup.Min`
 - `Data.Semigroup.Option`
 - `Data.Semigroup.WrappedMonoid`

Fixes #11

3 years agoRelax upper bound on `base` to allow GHC8/`base-4.9`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Wed, 28 Oct 2015 20:35:19 +0000 (21:35 +0100)] 
Relax upper bound on `base` to allow GHC8/`base-4.9`

3 years agoConvert `/since: .../` to new `@since`-style annotations
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Wed, 28 Oct 2015 20:34:40 +0000 (21:34 +0100)] 
Convert `/since: .../` to new `@since`-style annotations

3 years agoAdd instance NFData (STRef s a)
Eric Mertens [Tue, 13 Oct 2015 06:49:34 +0000 (23:49 -0700)] 
Add instance NFData (STRef s a)

Advances #10

3 years agoAdd instance for System.Exit.ExitCode
Eric Mertens [Tue, 13 Oct 2015 06:38:46 +0000 (23:38 -0700)] 
Add instance for System.Exit.ExitCode

Fixes #4

3 years agoAdd instance for IORef and MVar
Eric Mertens [Tue, 13 Oct 2015 06:33:01 +0000 (23:33 -0700)] 
Add instance for IORef and MVar

Advances #6

3 years agoChangelog for #10
Eric Mertens [Tue, 13 Oct 2015 06:20:08 +0000 (23:20 -0700)] 
Changelog for #10

3 years agoForeign.Ptr instances.
Mathieu Boespflug [Sun, 4 Oct 2015 18:15:59 +0000 (20:15 +0200)] 
Foreign.Ptr instances.

3 years agoMinor version bump
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 3 Sep 2015 15:59:13 +0000 (17:59 +0200)] 
Minor version bump

3 years agoMerge pull request #9 from RyanGlScott/polykinds
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 3 Sep 2015 15:56:26 +0000 (17:56 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #9 from RyanGlScott/polykinds

Make NFData (Proxy a) instance poly-kinded

3 years agoMake NFData (Proxy a) instance poly-kinded
RyanGlScott [Sat, 22 Aug 2015 16:16:39 +0000 (12:16 -0400)] 
Make NFData (Proxy a) instance poly-kinded

3 years agoConvert to containerized Travis-CI config
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 22 Aug 2015 08:08:04 +0000 (10:08 +0200)] 
Convert to containerized Travis-CI config

3 years agoPreparation for 1.4.1.1 point-release
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 22 Aug 2015 08:00:40 +0000 (10:00 +0200)] 
Preparation for 1.4.1.1 point-release

3 years agoMerge pull request #7 from bergmark/patch-1
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 10:33:45 +0000 (12:33 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #7 from bergmark/patch-1

Disallow building with GHC-7.2 + array-0.4

4 years agoDisallow building with GHC-7.2 + array-0.4
Adam Bergmark [Sun, 10 May 2015 18:56:18 +0000 (20:56 +0200)] 
Disallow building with GHC-7.2 + array-0.4

```
[1 of 1] Compiling Control.DeepSeq  ( Control/DeepSeq.hs, dist/dist-sandbox-c66cf055/build/Control/DeepSeq.o )

Control/DeepSeq.hs:91:1:
    ghc-prim:GHC.Generics can't be safely imported! The module itself isn't safe.
```

4 years agoFix compilation with GHC 7.4 v1.4.1.1
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Fri, 20 Mar 2015 06:58:17 +0000 (07:58 +0100)] 
Fix compilation with GHC 7.4

Follow-up to cdfcdee14ce9071bbfbddf0007df8aee8015da48

4 years agoFix compilation with GHC 7.2
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Fri, 20 Mar 2015 06:48:22 +0000 (07:48 +0100)] 
Fix compilation with GHC 7.2

Follow-up to cdfcdee14ce9071bbfbddf0007df8aee8015da48

4 years agoDrop redundant `ghc-prim` dependency
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 19 Mar 2015 22:39:36 +0000 (23:39 +0100)] 
Drop redundant `ghc-prim` dependency

4 years agoUpdate changelog for upcoming 1.4.1.0 release v1.4.1.0
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 10 Mar 2015 09:24:17 +0000 (10:24 +0100)] 
Update changelog for upcoming 1.4.1.0 release

4 years agoExtend documentation of `force` with usage examples
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 8 Mar 2015 11:00:47 +0000 (12:00 +0100)] 
Extend documentation of `force` with usage examples

4 years agoChange TypeRep and TyCon instances to use new internal GHC utilities
Austin Seipp [Thu, 5 Mar 2015 19:31:03 +0000 (13:31 -0600)] 
Change TypeRep and TyCon instances to use new internal GHC utilities

Signed-off-by: Austin Seipp <austin@well-typed.com>
4 years agoUpdate Travis-CI build-matrix
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 15 Jan 2015 12:43:13 +0000 (13:43 +0100)] 
Update Travis-CI build-matrix

4 years agoAdd changelog entry (re de1bc89)
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 15 Jan 2015 12:41:59 +0000 (13:41 +0100)] 
Add changelog entry (re de1bc89)

4 years agoRestore compatibility with base-4.3
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 15 Jan 2015 12:41:10 +0000 (13:41 +0100)] 
Restore compatibility with base-4.3

This is fallout from de1bc89

4 years agoBump version to 1.4.1.0
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 15 Jan 2015 12:39:37 +0000 (13:39 +0100)] 
Bump version to 1.4.1.0

Let's use a minor bump because dropping redundant constraints is
something that affects the type-signatures and could require to be
detectable in client-code via `MIN_VERSION_deepseq()`.

4 years agoRecover breakage for GHC<7.11 caused by de1bc89
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 15 Jan 2015 12:16:41 +0000 (13:16 +0100)] 
Recover breakage for GHC<7.11 caused by de1bc89

de1bc89 dropped a few redundant constraints, some of which are not yet
redundant in prior GHC/base versions.

4 years agoRemove redundant constraints, discovered by -fwarn-redundant-constraints
Simon Peyton Jones [Tue, 6 Jan 2015 12:19:50 +0000 (12:19 +0000)] 
Remove redundant constraints, discovered by -fwarn-redundant-constraints

4 years agoMinor doc fix v1.4.0.0
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 11:34:39 +0000 (12:34 +0100)] 
Minor doc fix

[skip ci]

4 years agoUpdate release month for 1.4.0.0
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 11:30:54 +0000 (12:30 +0100)] 
Update release month for 1.4.0.0

4 years agoRemove obsolete `deepseq-generics` reference
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 11:23:12 +0000 (12:23 +0100)] 
Remove obsolete `deepseq-generics` reference

...and detabify deepseq.cabal file

4 years agoAdd simple test-suite for Generics deriving
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 6 Dec 2014 10:39:21 +0000 (11:39 +0100)] 
Add simple test-suite for Generics deriving

This does not use ChasingBottoms as we're interested in testing each
field is evaluated exactly once which ChasingBottoms doesn't provide
afaics.

4 years ago`NFData` instance for `Data.Void.Void`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 6 Dec 2014 09:31:21 +0000 (10:31 +0100)] 
`NFData` instance for `Data.Void.Void`

4 years ago`NFData` instances for `Data.Ord.Down` wrapper
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Fri, 5 Dec 2014 16:42:05 +0000 (17:42 +0100)] 
`NFData` instances for `Data.Ord.Down` wrapper

4 years agoChangelog entry for 4beca42
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Fri, 5 Dec 2014 16:39:01 +0000 (17:39 +0100)] 
Changelog entry for 4beca42

4 years ago`NFData` instances for `TyCon` and `TypeRep`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Fri, 5 Dec 2014 16:35:24 +0000 (17:35 +0100)] 
`NFData` instances for `TyCon` and `TypeRep`

4 years agoAdd `NFData` instances for `Foreign.C.Types`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 25 Nov 2014 11:35:16 +0000 (12:35 +0100)] 
Add `NFData` instances for `Foreign.C.Types`

4 years ago`NFData` instance for `StableName`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 25 Nov 2014 11:10:26 +0000 (12:10 +0100)] 
`NFData` instance for `StableName`

4 years ago`NFData` instances for `TyCon` and `TypeRep`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 25 Nov 2014 11:00:38 +0000 (12:00 +0100)] 
`NFData` instances for `TyCon` and `TypeRep`

4 years agoinstance NFData GHC.Fingerprint.Type.Fingerprint
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 25 Nov 2014 10:56:52 +0000 (11:56 +0100)] 
instance NFData GHC.Fingerprint.Type.Fingerprint

4 years agoExtend `rnf` documentation to mention GHC 7.10's `DeriveAnyClass` extension
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 23 Nov 2014 16:39:39 +0000 (17:39 +0100)] 
Extend `rnf` documentation to mention GHC 7.10's `DeriveAnyClass` extension

4 years agoAdd `NFData` instance for `Const` & `ZipList`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 23 Nov 2014 16:25:39 +0000 (17:25 +0100)] 
Add `NFData` instance for `Const` & `ZipList`

4 years agoAdd `NFData` instances for `Monoid` wrappers
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 23 Nov 2014 16:07:46 +0000 (17:07 +0100)] 
Add `NFData` instances for `Monoid` wrappers

Specifically for `Data.Monoid.{Dual,First,Last,Any,All,Sum,Product}`

4 years agoAdd `NFData` instance for `Identity` functor (#2)
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 23 Nov 2014 16:03:56 +0000 (17:03 +0100)] 
Add `NFData` instance for `Identity` functor (#2)

4 years agoUpdate `.gitignore` and tweak Travis CI Job
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 23 Nov 2014 16:00:01 +0000 (17:00 +0100)] 
Update `.gitignore` and tweak Travis CI Job

`--force-reinstalls` to avoid failures for GHC HEAD

4 years agoAdd `NFData` instance for `Proxy`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 23 Nov 2014 15:57:52 +0000 (16:57 +0100)] 
Add `NFData` instance for `Proxy`

4 years agoAdd `NFData` instance for new `Natural` type (#2)
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sun, 23 Nov 2014 15:25:32 +0000 (16:25 +0100)] 
Add `NFData` instance for new `Natural` type (#2)

4 years agoMerge pull request #1 from hvr/pr-generics
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Fri, 14 Nov 2014 12:52:46 +0000 (13:52 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #1 from hvr/pr-generics

Add `Generics`-backed `DefaultSignature` `rnf`-method

4 years agoMerge `deepseq-generics` into `deepseq`
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 16 Oct 2014 09:19:16 +0000 (11:19 +0200)] 
Merge `deepseq-generics` into `deepseq`

This also replaces the existing `rnf x = seq x ()` default
implementation with a `Generics`-based `DefaultSignature` `rnf` method
implementation

This requires to drop support for GHCs older than GHC 7.2 to avoid
conditional exports due to lack of `Generics` support

For more details, see original proposal

  http://permalink.gmane.org/gmane.comp.lang.haskell.libraries/23031

4 years agoUpdate Travis CI job
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Fri, 7 Nov 2014 10:23:22 +0000 (11:23 +0100)] 
Update Travis CI job

4 years agoFix indentation in changelog file
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Fri, 7 Nov 2014 10:26:03 +0000 (11:26 +0100)] 
Fix indentation in changelog file

4 years agoUpdate Cabal meta-data to reflect new upstream
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 16 Oct 2014 07:43:05 +0000 (09:43 +0200)] 
Update Cabal meta-data to reflect new upstream

[skip ci]

4 years agoUpdate Travis Job
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 16 Oct 2014 07:30:05 +0000 (09:30 +0200)] 
Update Travis Job

4 years agoUpdate build-icon in README.md
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 16 Oct 2014 07:09:18 +0000 (09:09 +0200)] 
Update build-icon in README.md

As `deepseq` now hosted on GitHub, it now has its own Travis job to allow
validating PRs

4 years agoFixup changelog extension in deepseq.cabal
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 16 Oct 2014 06:43:22 +0000 (08:43 +0200)] 
Fixup changelog extension in deepseq.cabal

This was broken in 3815fe819ba46