Stop using hedge algorithms
authorDavid Feuer <David.Feuer@gmail.com>
Fri, 29 Jul 2016 01:52:08 +0000 (21:52 -0400)
committerDavid Feuer <David.Feuer@gmail.com>
Mon, 1 Aug 2016 06:19:27 +0000 (02:19 -0400)
commitc3083cfceb4fa1370e764698019e97faadee44e7
treecff4b6e94614c120ae318f8780c83e79b6f31b73
parent1d2807a6e537f1de2e10bfef58d44229e225dc4e
Stop using hedge algorithms

Replace hedge algorithms with divide and conquer algorithms for unions,
intersections, differences, and merges in `Data.Set` and `Data.Map`. The
divide and conquer algorithms

* are much simpler,

* have recently been proven asymptotically optimal, and

* are faster on most benchmarks, sometimes much faster, and never
  much slower.
.gitignore
Data/IntMap/Base.hs
Data/Map/Base.hs
Data/Map/Strict.hs
Data/Set/Base.hs
Data/Utils/StrictMaybe.hs
changelog.md