packages/binary.git
6 months agoMerge pull request #159 from DavidEichmann/T-13064 master
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 15 Nov 2018 15:06:14 +0000 (16:06 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #159 from DavidEichmann/T-13064

Remove unused imports.

6 months agoMerge pull request #157 from bgamari/master
Lennart Kolmodin [Tue, 13 Nov 2018 09:34:25 +0000 (10:34 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #157 from bgamari/master

Add support for Int16#, Word16#

6 months agoRemove unused imports.
David Eichmann [Tue, 6 Nov 2018 17:54:23 +0000 (17:54 +0000)] 
Remove unused imports.

Due to a bug in ghc, some unused imports do not yield warnings.
This commit will remove such unused imports in preparation for
the ghc bug fix (see https://ghc.haskell.org/trac/ghc/ticket/13064).

6 months agoAdd support for Int16#, Word16#
Ben Gamari [Mon, 5 Nov 2018 17:44:06 +0000 (12:44 -0500)] 
Add support for Int16#, Word16#

7 months agoMerge pull request #156 from kolmodin/pr/ghc861
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 6 Oct 2018 13:27:28 +0000 (15:27 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #156 from kolmodin/pr/ghc861

Add GHC 8.6.1 to travis and docker.

7 months agoFixes for docker and cabal-install 2.4.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 6 Oct 2018 13:26:52 +0000 (15:26 +0200)] 
Fixes for docker and cabal-install 2.4.

7 months agoAdd GHC 8.6.1 to travis and docker.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 6 Oct 2018 10:25:27 +0000 (12:25 +0200)] 
Add GHC 8.6.1 to travis and docker.

7 months agoMerge pull request #155 from bgamari/master
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 6 Oct 2018 10:02:57 +0000 (12:02 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #155 from bgamari/master

Add support for Int8Rep/Word8Rep added in GHC 8.7

7 months agoAdd support for Int8Rep/Word8Rep added in GHC 8.7
Ben Gamari [Thu, 4 Oct 2018 20:28:41 +0000 (16:28 -0400)] 
Add support for Int8Rep/Word8Rep added in GHC 8.7

9 months agoAdd instructions how to launch tests with docker-compose.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 8 Aug 2018 12:47:22 +0000 (12:47 +0000)] 
Add instructions how to launch tests with docker-compose.

9 months agoAdd docker-compose.yml to run tests on multiple ghc versions.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 8 Aug 2018 12:42:58 +0000 (12:42 +0000)] 
Add docker-compose.yml to run tests on multiple ghc versions.

9 months agoAdd initial Dockerfile running binary's tests.
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 6 Aug 2018 09:35:20 +0000 (09:35 +0000)] 
Add initial Dockerfile running binary's tests.

9 months agoAdd two more other-modules.
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 6 Aug 2018 09:34:52 +0000 (09:34 +0000)] 
Add two more other-modules.

9 months agoSet version to 0.8.6.0. 0.8.6.0
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 4 Aug 2018 11:10:23 +0000 (11:10 +0000)] 
Set version to 0.8.6.0.

There was no breaking changes in version 0.10.0.0,
so let's also release under 0.8.6.0.

9 months agoRemove more other-modules duplicates. 0.10.0.0
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 2 Aug 2018 06:35:14 +0000 (08:35 +0200)] 
Remove more other-modules duplicates.

9 months agoFix build error. Duplicates in other-modules.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 20:27:09 +0000 (22:27 +0200)] 
Fix build error. Duplicates in other-modules.

9 months agoBump to 0.10.0.0 and add changelog.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 19:47:47 +0000 (21:47 +0200)] 
Bump to 0.10.0.0 and add changelog.

9 months agoHide 'total' from Test.QuickCheck. Fixes shadowing warning.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 19:30:13 +0000 (21:30 +0200)] 
Hide 'total' from Test.QuickCheck. Fixes shadowing warning.

9 months agoAdd other-modules for the tests and benchmarks.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 1 Aug 2018 19:15:10 +0000 (21:15 +0200)] 
Add other-modules for the tests and benchmarks.

GHC gave a warning that we needed modules but didn't explicitly depend
on them in the .cabal file.

11 months agoMerge pull request #146 from Daniel-Diaz/master upstream/master
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 7 Jun 2018 19:59:09 +0000 (21:59 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #146 from Daniel-Diaz/master

Add Binary instance for Identity, from base-4.8.0.0

11 months agoMerge pull request #148 from int-index/no-star
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 7 Jun 2018 19:58:05 +0000 (21:58 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #148 from int-index/no-star

Don't use * as Type in the presence of TypeOperators

11 months agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'upstream/master'
Daniel Casanueva [Thu, 7 Jun 2018 11:17:29 +0000 (13:17 +0200)] 
Merge remote-tracking branch 'upstream/master'

11 months agoDon't use * as Type in the presence of TypeOperators
Vladislav Zavialov [Tue, 29 May 2018 09:19:31 +0000 (12:19 +0300)] 
Don't use * as Type in the presence of TypeOperators

11 months agoMerge pull request #147 from int-index/fix-ci
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 7 Jun 2018 05:18:51 +0000 (07:18 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #147 from int-index/fix-ci

Fix CI

11 months agoFix CI
Vladislav Zavialov [Tue, 22 May 2018 13:43:31 +0000 (16:43 +0300)] 
Fix CI

14 months agoAdd Binary instance for Identity, from base-4.8.0.0.
Daniel Díaz [Mon, 12 Mar 2018 16:14:59 +0000 (11:14 -0500)] 
Add Binary instance for Identity, from base-4.8.0.0.

18 months agoPermit QuickCheck >= 2.9
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 6 Nov 2017 10:55:32 +0000 (11:55 +0100)] 
Permit QuickCheck >= 2.9

2 years agoBump version to 0.8.5.1. 0.8.5.1 binary-0.8.5.1-release
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 2 Apr 2017 16:48:09 +0000 (18:48 +0200)] 
Bump version to 0.8.5.1.

2 years agoFix comments.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 2 Apr 2017 16:47:27 +0000 (18:47 +0200)] 
Fix comments.

2 years agoSet version to 0.8.5.0.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 2 Apr 2017 16:21:21 +0000 (18:21 +0200)] 
Set version to 0.8.5.0.

Same as version 0.9.0.0. There were no new breaking changes, so let's
go back to major 0.8.

2 years agoBump version to 0.9.0.0.
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 21:54:47 +0000 (22:54 +0100)] 
Bump version to 0.9.0.0.

2 years agoUpdate changelog.md with news for 0.9.0.0.
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 21:54:25 +0000 (22:54 +0100)] 
Update changelog.md with news for 0.9.0.0.

2 years agoTest typeRep function to increase test coverage.
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 21:53:44 +0000 (22:53 +0100)] 
Test typeRep function to increase test coverage.

2 years agoMerge pull request #135 from bgamari/master
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 20:22:46 +0000 (21:22 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #135 from bgamari/master

Class: Drop Data.Typeable import for GHC <8.2

2 years agoClass: Drop Data.Typeable import for GHC <8.2
Ben Gamari [Mon, 13 Mar 2017 14:12:21 +0000 (10:12 -0400)] 
Class: Drop Data.Typeable import for GHC <8.2

2 years agoMerge pull request #132 from RyanGlScott/master
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 6 Mar 2017 16:51:13 +0000 (17:51 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #132 from RyanGlScott/master

Remove redundant pattern-match warning when built with GHC 8.2

2 years agoRemove redundant pattern-match warning when built with GHC 8.2
Ryan Scott [Fri, 3 Mar 2017 04:23:41 +0000 (23:23 -0500)] 
Remove redundant pattern-match warning when built with GHC 8.2

2 years agoAdd Binary instances for Typeable TypeReps (#131)
Ben Gamari [Sat, 25 Feb 2017 09:01:12 +0000 (09:01 +0000)] 
Add Binary instances for Typeable TypeReps (#131)

2 years ago[travis-ci] cabal-install-1.22 for GHC 7.8.4.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 18 Feb 2017 10:46:35 +0000 (11:46 +0100)] 
[travis-ci] cabal-install-1.22 for GHC 7.8.4.

2 years ago[travis-ci] Bump to cabal-install-1.20 for GHC 7.8.4.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 18 Feb 2017 10:42:08 +0000 (11:42 +0100)] 
[travis-ci] Bump to cabal-install-1.20 for GHC 7.8.4.

Again, trying to resolve haskell/cabal#4331.

2 years ago[travis-ci] Compile with -j1.
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 16 Feb 2017 19:48:47 +0000 (20:48 +0100)] 
[travis-ci] Compile with -j1.

2 years ago[travis-ci] Increase verbosity even further.
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 16 Feb 2017 07:00:25 +0000 (08:00 +0100)] 
[travis-ci] Increase verbosity even further.

2 years ago[travis-ci] Increase verbosity to debug failure.
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 16 Feb 2017 06:33:34 +0000 (07:33 +0100)] 
[travis-ci] Increase verbosity to debug failure.

2 years ago[travis-ci] Reflect bytestring >= 0.10.4 change in cabal file.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 15 Feb 2017 20:18:41 +0000 (21:18 +0100)] 
[travis-ci] Reflect bytestring >= 0.10.4 change in cabal file.

2 years agoSet bytestring >= 0.10.4.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 15 Feb 2017 19:52:21 +0000 (20:52 +0100)] 
Set bytestring >= 0.10.4.

See #123.

2 years ago[travis-ci] Fix some build breakage (#130)
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 22 Jan 2017 17:56:14 +0000 (18:56 +0100)] 
[travis-ci] Fix some build breakage (#130)

Split cabal install into two invocations. Cabal seems to not handle the 'cabal-version' constraint correctly, and ends up ordering the packages to install in the wrong order.
Installing Cabal separately first, and then all other packages, seems to work around the problem.

2 years agoMerge pull request #129 from treeowl/nix-tyConString
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 11 Jan 2017 19:58:49 +0000 (20:58 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #129 from treeowl/nix-tyConString

Don't use tyConString

2 years agoDon't use tyConString
David Feuer [Tue, 10 Jan 2017 06:37:03 +0000 (01:37 -0500)] 
Don't use tyConString

`tyConString` has been deprecated since GHC 7.4. I'd like to move toward actually removing it. That can't happen until `binary` stops using it.

2 years agoMerge pull request #128 from tippenein/fix-unpack-pragma-link
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 8 Jan 2017 15:59:25 +0000 (16:59 +0100)] 
Merge pull request #128 from tippenein/fix-unpack-pragma-link

fix link in Data.Binary.Get documentation.

2 years agofix unpack pragma link
brady.ouren [Sun, 8 Jan 2017 04:59:24 +0000 (20:59 -0800)] 
fix unpack pragma link

2 years agoInstall "bytestring >= 0.10.2" for all GHCs
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 14:33:33 +0000 (16:33 +0200)] 
Install "bytestring >= 0.10.2" for all GHCs

Should be a no-op if the constraint is already satisfied.

2 years ago[travis] Require "bytestring >= 0.10.2" for older GHCs
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 13:59:16 +0000 (15:59 +0200)] 
[travis] Require "bytestring >= 0.10.2" for older GHCs

2 years agoUse QuickCheck == 2.9.*
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 12:50:13 +0000 (14:50 +0200)] 
Use QuickCheck == 2.9.*

2 years agoRemove tuple Arbitrary instances
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 12:49:40 +0000 (14:49 +0200)] 
Remove tuple Arbitrary instances

They're defined in recent QuickCheck versions.

2 years agoAdd badges to README
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 09:05:06 +0000 (11:05 +0200)] 
Add badges to README

For Hackage and Stackage versions

2 years agoBump to 0.8.4.1.
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 7 Jul 2016 11:55:55 +0000 (13:55 +0200)] 
Bump to 0.8.4.1.

2 years agoMerge pull request #122 from kolmodin/pr-short-import
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 7 Jul 2016 11:52:46 +0000 (13:52 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #122 from kolmodin/pr-short-import

Import Data.ByteString.Short conditionally

2 years agoImport Data.ByteString.Short conditionally
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 7 Jul 2016 07:47:02 +0000 (09:47 +0200)] 
Import Data.ByteString.Short conditionally

Fixes #121.

2 years agoBump version to 0.8.4.0.
Lennart Kolmodin [Fri, 3 Jun 2016 18:27:52 +0000 (20:27 +0200)] 
Bump version to 0.8.4.0.

2 years agoMerge branch 'pr/float-double-instances'
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 1 Jun 2016 20:16:21 +0000 (22:16 +0200)] 
Merge branch 'pr/float-double-instances'

2 years agoFix haddocks.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 1 Jun 2016 20:16:04 +0000 (22:16 +0200)] 
Fix haddocks.

2 years agoSpecify IEEE-754 in the haddocks for the new Float/Double functions.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 1 Jun 2016 20:15:14 +0000 (22:15 +0200)] 
Specify IEEE-754 in the haddocks for the new Float/Double functions.

2 years agoBack to safety!
Daniel Díaz [Wed, 1 Jun 2016 14:20:33 +0000 (10:20 -0400)] 
Back to safety!

2 years agoOnly layout changes
Daniel Díaz [Tue, 31 May 2016 17:12:49 +0000 (13:12 -0400)] 
Only layout changes

2 years agoChanged INLINEABLEs with INLINEs
Daniel Díaz [Tue, 31 May 2016 17:11:40 +0000 (13:11 -0400)] 
Changed INLINEABLEs with INLINEs

2 years agoMerge branch 'pr/monoid-semigroup-instances'
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 30 May 2016 19:46:05 +0000 (21:46 +0200)] 
Merge branch 'pr/monoid-semigroup-instances'

2 years agoInline the Alternative functions.
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 30 May 2016 19:21:19 +0000 (21:21 +0200)] 
Inline the Alternative functions.

The related benchmarks in benchmarks/Get.hs become 20% faster.

2 years agoMerge pull request #115 from bgamari/needless-copies
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 28 May 2016 19:26:10 +0000 (21:26 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #115 from bgamari/needless-copies

[RFC] Get: Avoid needless copies of input

2 years agoFix generic-bench build error on GHC 8.0.1.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 28 May 2016 09:59:26 +0000 (11:59 +0200)] 
Fix generic-bench build error on GHC 8.0.1.

2 years agoOn Travis CI, also build with GHC 8.0.1 and cabal-install 1.24.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 28 May 2016 09:34:57 +0000 (11:34 +0200)] 
On Travis CI, also build with GHC 8.0.1 and cabal-install 1.24.

2 years agoForgot to add the source of the new module.
Daniel Díaz [Fri, 27 May 2016 16:37:30 +0000 (12:37 -0400)] 
Forgot to add the source of the new module.

2 years agoRemoved reinterpret-cast dependency. Embedded the code from this library instead.
Daniel Díaz [Fri, 27 May 2016 16:07:14 +0000 (12:07 -0400)] 
Removed reinterpret-cast dependency. Embedded the code from this library instead.

3 years agoAdded some missing deps
Daniel Díaz [Wed, 25 May 2016 21:14:02 +0000 (17:14 -0400)] 
Added some missing deps

3 years agoMerge pull request #116 from bgamari/inline-tuple-instances
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 25 May 2016 19:40:33 +0000 (21:40 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #116 from bgamari/inline-tuple-instances

Ensure that Binary instances for tuples are inlined

3 years agoUpdate generics-bench to use Cabal == 1.24.*
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 25 May 2016 19:04:05 +0000 (21:04 +0200)] 
Update generics-bench to use Cabal == 1.24.*

3 years agoImplementation of get/put functions for floats/doubles.
Daniel Díaz [Sat, 21 May 2016 18:58:50 +0000 (14:58 -0400)] 
Implementation of get/put functions for floats/doubles.

3 years agoGet: Avoid needless copies of input
Ben Gamari [Sun, 15 May 2016 21:55:43 +0000 (23:55 +0200)] 
Get: Avoid needless copies of input

My `b-tree` library seems to tickle a rather pathological behavior in
`binary`'s decoding logic, where `binary` will create many needless
copies of the input buffer by evaluating things of the form `B.concat
[B.empty, leftovers]`, where `leftovers` is large.

This resulted in runtimes of over two minutes when parsing a 50 MByte
file. With this fix run drops to less than 100 milliseconds.

3 years agoEnsure that Binary instances for tuples are inlined
Ben Gamari [Sun, 15 May 2016 21:54:02 +0000 (23:54 +0200)] 
Ensure that Binary instances for tuples are inlined

Otherwise we end up relying on dynamic dispatch here which has a rather
drastic effect on runtime.

3 years agoAdd Binary instances for datatypes in Data.Monoid/Data.Semigroup
Ryan Scott [Wed, 11 May 2016 14:13:21 +0000 (10:13 -0400)] 
Add Binary instances for datatypes in Data.Monoid/Data.Semigroup

This adds simple `Binary` instances for:

1. The newtype wrappers in `Data.Monoid`
2. The datatypes brought into `base` (from `semigroups`) in `base-4.9`:
  * The datatypes in `Data.Semigroup`
  * `Data.List.NonEmpty.NonEmpty`

Fixes #107.

3 years agoAdd ghc-prim dependency to all targets.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 1 May 2016 09:19:58 +0000 (11:19 +0200)] 
Add ghc-prim dependency to all targets.

Now that Generics is used in all targets, we also need ghc-prim.

3 years agoReenable GHC 7.4.2 on Travis CI
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 1 May 2016 09:07:47 +0000 (11:07 +0200)] 
Reenable GHC 7.4.2 on Travis CI

The dependency problem should have been fixed now.
See haskell/tar#15.

3 years agoRemove old CPP
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 1 May 2016 09:05:19 +0000 (11:05 +0200)] 
Remove old CPP

This CPP is no longer needed now that we only support GHC >= 7.4.

3 years agoRequire GHC>=7.4.1.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 30 Apr 2016 21:34:43 +0000 (23:34 +0200)] 
Require GHC>=7.4.1.

3 years agoBump version to 0.8.3.0. 0.8.3.0
Lennart Kolmodin [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 19:00:14 +0000 (21:00 +0200)] 
Bump version to 0.8.3.0.

Next version won't be 0.9.0.0 as previously stated. Looks like no changes
should be breaking, except for the semi public API in
Data.Binary.Builder.Internal which now has been removed.

Also remove GHC 7.6.3 from 'tested-with'. It was removed from Travis CI since
its dependencies doesn't build.

3 years agoRemove Num constraint.
Lennart Kolmodin [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 16:12:09 +0000 (18:12 +0200)] 
Remove Num constraint.

It wasn't required.

3 years agoFix typo.
Lennart Kolmodin [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 15:42:34 +0000 (17:42 +0200)] 
Fix typo.

3 years agoFix compilation error on GHC < 8.
Lennart Kolmodin [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 15:28:56 +0000 (17:28 +0200)] 
Fix compilation error on GHC < 8.

3 years agoRemove Eq constraint.
Lennart Kolmodin [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 05:39:14 +0000 (07:39 +0200)] 
Remove Eq constraint.

It wasn't required.

3 years agoAdd Semigroup for Put for GHC 8.
Lennart Kolmodin [Tue, 19 Apr 2016 05:37:05 +0000 (07:37 +0200)] 
Add Semigroup for Put for GHC 8.

base-4.9.0.0 has Data.Semigroup.

3 years agoAdd Double to Put benchmark.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 16 Apr 2016 21:44:53 +0000 (23:44 +0200)] 
Add Double to Put benchmark.

3 years agoUse monoid in Put benchmark.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 16 Apr 2016 10:41:05 +0000 (12:41 +0200)] 
Use monoid in Put benchmark.

3 years agoImplement put in Binary instances only using monoid.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 16 Apr 2016 10:17:56 +0000 (12:17 +0200)] 
Implement put in Binary instances only using monoid.

3 years agoRewrite mappend to only depend on the Builders.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 16 Apr 2016 08:04:47 +0000 (10:04 +0200)] 
Rewrite mappend to only depend on the Builders.

This gives a 5% speedup in the generics-bench benchmark.

3 years agoUse ghc 7.10.3 on travis CI instead of ghc 7.10.2.
Lennart Kolmodin [Fri, 15 Apr 2016 20:27:07 +0000 (22:27 +0200)] 
Use ghc 7.10.3 on travis CI instead of ghc 7.10.2.

3 years agoRemove ghc 7.4.2 from travis CI.
Lennart Kolmodin [Fri, 15 Apr 2016 20:24:13 +0000 (22:24 +0200)] 
Remove ghc 7.4.2 from travis CI.

It's been failing on travis for 3 months due to failing dependencies.

3 years agoUpdate changelog for version 0.9.0.0.
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 13 Apr 2016 18:31:26 +0000 (20:31 +0200)] 
Update changelog for version 0.9.0.0.

3 years agoFix compilation error for GHC < 7.10.
Lennart Kolmodin [Tue, 12 Apr 2016 20:03:34 +0000 (22:03 +0200)] 
Fix compilation error for GHC < 7.10.

3 years agoSilence warning.
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 11 Apr 2016 20:14:45 +0000 (22:14 +0200)] 
Silence warning.

3 years agoAdd small Generics bench to the Put benchmark suite.
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 11 Apr 2016 20:03:58 +0000 (22:03 +0200)] 
Add small Generics bench to the Put benchmark suite.

3 years agoExplicitly test small and big Integers and Naturals.
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 10 Apr 2016 10:14:55 +0000 (12:14 +0200)] 
Explicitly test small and big Integers and Naturals.