Build utilities with the bootstrap compiler when cross compiling
authorMoritz Angermann <moritz.angermann@gmail.com>
Fri, 29 Sep 2017 06:50:15 +0000 (14:50 +0800)
committerHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Fri, 29 Sep 2017 06:56:45 +0000 (08:56 +0200)
commitecdac062b5cf1d284906487849c56f4e149b3c8e
tree4f09daae0e1b3e2f7f63e7b12ca24e4e7d69558a
parent936b0885ee794db83dc8473e17e153936e56d62f
Build utilities with the bootstrap compiler when cross compiling

This should fix Trac #14297.  When building a cross compiler, we have rather little use
of utilities that do not run on the host, where the compiler runs. As such we should
build the utilities with the bootstrap (stage 0) compiler rather than witht he
in-tree (stage 1) compiler when CrossCompiling.

This used to results in the utilities we ship in the binary distribution to be built for
the wrong host.  This diff tries to rectify the situation and allow the binary distribution
to contain the utilities for the host when CrossCompiling.

See also https://phabricator.haskell.org/D4048
ghc.mk