base: Note platform dependence of registerFd
authorBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Fri, 23 Oct 2015 15:09:31 +0000 (17:09 +0200)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Fri, 23 Oct 2015 15:43:49 +0000 (17:43 +0200)
Just a documentation change. Fixes #10736.

libraries/base/GHC/Event/Manager.hs

index b674866..a94f8e8 100644 (file)
@@ -305,6 +305,11 @@ step mgr@EventManager{..} = do
 -- | Register interest in the given events, without waking the event
 -- manager thread.  The 'Bool' return value indicates whether the
 -- event manager ought to be woken.
+--
+-- Note that the event manager is generally implemented in terms of the
+-- platform's @selectg@ or @epoll@ system call, which tend to vary in
+-- what sort of fds are permitted. For instance, waiting on regular files
+-- is not allowed on many platforms.
 registerFd_ :: EventManager -> IOCallback -> Fd -> Event -> Lifetime
             -> IO (FdKey, Bool)
 registerFd_ mgr@(EventManager{..}) cb fd evs lt = do