Testsuite: do not depend on sys.stdout.encoding
authorThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Wed, 29 Jun 2016 20:56:58 +0000 (22:56 +0200)
committerThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Thu, 30 Jun 2016 08:43:37 +0000 (10:43 +0200)
The cause of #12213 is in dump_stdout and dump_stderr:

      print(read_no_crs(<filename>))

Commit 6f6f515401a29d26eaa5daae308b8e700abd4c04 changed read_no_crs to
return a unicode string. Printing a unicode strings works fine as long
as sys.stdout.encoding is 'UTF-8'.

There are two reasons why sys.stdout.encoding might not be 'UTF-8'.

* When output is going to a file, sys.stdout and sys.stdout do not respect
  the locale:

  $ LC_ALL=en_US.utf8 python -c 'import sys; print(sys.stderr.encoding)'
  UTF-8
  $ LC_ALL=en_US.utf8 python -c 'import sys; print(sys.stderr.encoding)' 2>/dev/null
  None

* When output is going to the terminal, explicitly reopening sys.stdout has
  the side-effect of changing sys.stdout.encoding from 'UTF-8' to 'None'.

      sys.stdout = os.fdopen(sys.__stdout__.fileno(), "w", 0)

  We currently do this to set a buffersize of 0 (the actual
  buffersize used is irrelevant for the sys.stdout.encoding problem).

Solution: fix dump_stdout and dump_stderr to not use read_no_crs.

testsuite/driver/testlib.py

index 493e52b..595baab 100644 (file)
@@ -1366,7 +1366,7 @@ def stdout_ok(name, way):
 
 def dump_stdout( name ):
    print('Stdout:')
-   print(read_no_crs(in_testdir(name, 'run.stdout')))
+   print(open(in_testdir(name, 'run.stdout')).read())
 
 def stderr_ok(name, way):
    actual_stderr_file = add_suffix(name, 'run.stderr')
@@ -1379,7 +1379,7 @@ def stderr_ok(name, way):
 
 def dump_stderr( name ):
    print("Stderr:")
-   print(read_no_crs(in_testdir(name, 'run.stderr')))
+   print(open(in_testdir(name, 'run.stderr')).read())
 
 def read_no_crs(file):
     str = ''