Ord docs: Add explanation on 'min' and 'max' operator interactions
authorSimon Jakobi <simon.jakobi@gmail.com>
Wed, 10 Apr 2019 07:23:49 +0000 (09:23 +0200)
committerMarge Bot <ben+marge-bot@smart-cactus.org>
Sun, 14 Apr 2019 12:43:17 +0000 (08:43 -0400)
[ci skip]

libraries/ghc-prim/GHC/Classes.hs

index 14e7ae3..6e12ce9 100644 (file)
@@ -331,6 +331,10 @@ instance Ord TyCon where
 -- 7. @min x y == if x <= y then x else y@ = 'True'
 -- 8. @max x y == if x >= y then x else y@ = 'True'
 --
+-- Note that (7.) and (8.) do /not/ require 'min' and 'max' to return either of
+-- their arguments. The result is merely required to /equal/ one of the
+-- arguments in terms of '(==)'.
+--
 -- Minimal complete definition: either 'compare' or '<='.
 -- Using 'compare' can be more efficient for complex types.
 --