Add some tips to the Troubleshooting section of README
authorArtem Pelenitsyn <a.pelenitsyn@gmail.com>
Mon, 11 Mar 2019 17:40:48 +0000 (13:40 -0400)
committerMarge Bot <ben+marge-bot@smart-cactus.org>
Fri, 29 Mar 2019 18:18:12 +0000 (14:18 -0400)
hadrian/README.md

index 3ca9787..2f89e2e 100644 (file)
@@ -248,14 +248,23 @@ Here are a few simple suggestions that might help you fix the build:
 
 * If Hadrian fails with the message
   `Configuration file hadrian/cfg/system.config is missing`, you have probably
-  forgotten to pass the `--configure` flag during the first build.
-
-* If you need help in debugging Hadrian, read the
-  [wiki](https://github.com/snowleopard/hadrian/wiki)
-  and Shake's [debugging tutorial](https://shakebuild.com/debugging).
-
-If nothing helps, don't hesitate to create a GHC issue, choosing the
-component `Build System (Hadrian)`.
+  forgotten to pass the `--configure` flag during the first build. 
+
+* With the `--configure` (`-c`) flag, Hadrian sometimes fetches a wrong 
+  Happy saying something like: `HappyTemplate-arrays-coerce: openFile: does not exist`
+  (as mentioned [here](https://github.com/haskell/cabal/issues/5867)), in 
+  which case you might be better off running `./configure` manually before Hadrian.
+
+* The call to `build test` sometimes fails with 
+  `libCffi_p.a: copyFile: does not exist` (as noticed 
+  [here](https://gitlab.haskell.org/ghc/ghc/issues/15877#note_166739)). 
+  The workaround is to `rm _build/stage1/libffi/build/inst/lib/libffi.a` and 
+  start over.
+
+If you need help in debugging Hadrian, read the 
+[wiki](https://github.com/snowleopard/hadrian/wiki)
+and Shake's [debugging tutorial](https://shakebuild.com/debugging).
+If nothing helps, don't hesitate to create a GHC issue.
 
 Current limitations
 -------------------