document the plan for removing Data.Semigroup.Option
authorAndrew Martin <andrew.thaddeus@gmail.com>
Wed, 25 Apr 2018 23:44:29 +0000 (19:44 -0400)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Thu, 3 May 2018 16:00:55 +0000 (12:00 -0400)
libraries/base/Data/Semigroup.hs

index 4438e2f..58a0b92 100644 (file)
@@ -455,7 +455,12 @@ mtimesDefault n x
 -- underlying 'Monoid'.
 --
 -- Ideally, this type would not exist at all and we would just fix the
--- 'Monoid' instance of 'Maybe'
+-- 'Monoid' instance of 'Maybe'.
+--
+-- In GHC 8.4 and higher, the 'Monoid' instance for 'Maybe' has been
+-- corrected to lift a 'Semigroup' instance instead of a 'Monoid'
+-- instance. Consequently, this type is no longer useful. It will be
+-- marked deprecated in GHC 8.8 and removed in GHC 8.10.
 newtype Option a = Option { getOption :: Maybe a }
   deriving ( Eq       -- ^ @since 4.9.0.0
            , Ord      -- ^ @since 4.9.0.0