Add platform warning to Foreign.C.Types
authorTamar Christina <tamar@zhox.com>
Sat, 10 Sep 2016 12:04:19 +0000 (13:04 +0100)
committerTamar Christina <tamar@zhox.com>
Sat, 10 Sep 2016 19:32:57 +0000 (20:32 +0100)
Summary:
The generated documentation for thhe Foreign.C.Types
module is generated based on the platform which ran Haddock.

This is generating incorrect types for e.g. Windows.

Add a disclaimer to the top of the page to ask people to
keep this in mind.

Test Plan: make documentation and inspect Haddock

Reviewers: erikd, austin, hvr, bgamari

Reviewed By: erikd

Subscribers: RyanGlScott, #ghc_windows_task_force, thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D2523

GHC Trac Issues: #12586

libraries/base/Foreign/C/Types.hs
libraries/base/System/Posix/Types.hs

index a16f838..6d084bf 100644 (file)
@@ -23,6 +23,12 @@ module Foreign.C.Types
         ( -- * Representations of C types
           -- $ctypes
 
+          -- ** Platform differences
+          -- | This module contains platform specific information about types.
+          --   __/As such the types presented on this page reflect the platform
+          --   on which the documentation was generated and may not coincide with
+          --   the types on your platform./__
+
           -- ** Integral types
           -- | These types are represented as @newtype@s of
           -- types in "Data.Int" and "Data.Word", and are instances of
index 5389e6e..52fce87 100644 (file)
 module System.Posix.Types (
 
   -- * POSIX data types
+
+  -- ** Platform differences
+  -- | This module contains platform specific information about types.
+  --   __/As such the types presented on this page reflect the platform
+  --   on which the documentation was generated and may not coincide with
+  --   the types on your platform./__
 #if defined(HTYPE_DEV_T)
   CDev(..),
 #endif