validate: enable -DDEBUG in stage 1 by default
authorÖmer Sinan Ağacan <omeragacan@gmail.com>
Sun, 7 Feb 2016 18:14:44 +0000 (13:14 -0500)
committerÖmer Sinan Ağacan <omeragacan@gmail.com>
Sun, 7 Feb 2016 18:15:01 +0000 (13:15 -0500)
Since the whole point of validation is to test the compiler, assertions
should be enabled at least for some part of the build. Previously
assertions were only enabled (1) in stage 2 compiler (2) when "slow"
setting is used. With this patch we enable assertions in stage 1
compiler in all settings, to test them on (1) the compiler itself (2)
the libraries, even with the "fast" setting.

This will make "fast" setting slower, but the difference should be quite
modest - I didn't realize a significant difference in validation times.

Reviewers: bgamari, austin, thomie

Reviewed By: thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1890

mk/flavours/validate.mk

index 1a636fa..cb38bd5 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,6 @@
 SRC_HC_OPTS        = -O0 -H64m
 SRC_HC_OPTS_STAGE1 = -fllvm-fill-undef-with-garbage   # See Trac 11487
-GhcStage1HcOpts    = -O
+GhcStage1HcOpts    = -O -DDEBUG
 GhcStage2HcOpts    = -O -dcore-lint
 GhcLibHcOpts       = -O -dcore-lint
 BUILD_PROF_LIBS    = NO