Don't substitute GccVersion variable
authorBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Sun, 27 Oct 2019 15:14:56 +0000 (11:14 -0400)
committerMarge Bot <ben+marge-bot@smart-cactus.org>
Tue, 29 Oct 2019 07:49:31 +0000 (03:49 -0400)
Not only is it now unused but we generally can't assume that we are
compiling with GCC, so it really shouldn't be used.

aclocal.m4
mk/config.mk.in

index aea0d64..f5e7050 100644 (file)
@@ -1315,7 +1315,7 @@ AC_DEFUN([FP_PROG_AR_NEEDS_RANLIB],[
 # FP_GCC_VERSION
 # -----------
 # Extra testing of the result AC_PROG_CC, testing the gcc version no. Sets the
-# output variable GccVersion.
+# (unsubstituted) output variable GccVersion.
 AC_DEFUN([FP_GCC_VERSION], [
   AC_REQUIRE([AC_PROG_CC])
   if test -z "$CC"
@@ -1330,7 +1330,7 @@ AC_DEFUN([FP_GCC_VERSION], [
       FP_COMPARE_VERSIONS([$fp_cv_gcc_version], [-lt], [4.6],
                           [AC_MSG_ERROR([Need at least gcc version 4.6 (4.7+ recommended)])])
   ])
-  AC_SUBST([GccVersion], [$fp_cv_gcc_version])
+  GccVersion="$fp_cv_gcc_version"
 ])# FP_GCC_VERSION
 
 dnl Check to see if the C compiler is clang or llvm-gcc
index cd85c65..98155f8 100644 (file)
@@ -521,8 +521,6 @@ SettingsOptCommand = @SettingsOptCommand@
 # the flag CC=<blah> instead.  The reason is that the configure script
 # needs to know which gcc you're using in order to perform its tests.
 
-GccVersion            = @GccVersion@
-
 # TargetPlatformFull retains the string passed to configure so we have it in
 # the necessary format to pass to libffi's configure.
 TargetPlatformFull    = @TargetPlatformFull@