Fix sample code of -fprint-explicit-kinds, plus sample when disabling PolyKinds
authorYuji Yamamoto <whosekiteneverfly@gmail.com>
Thu, 25 Oct 2018 01:59:29 +0000 (10:59 +0900)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Mon, 29 Oct 2018 19:11:36 +0000 (15:11 -0400)
- Although the sample is for `-fprint-explicit-kinds`, the sample code
  uses `-fprint-explicit-foralls` (but perhaps the output used to be
  correct one of `-fprint-explicit-kinds`).
- Update the output with the recent version of GHC (ver. 8.4.3. I guess
  it doesn't change in GHC 8.6...)
- Add more samples to clarify the difference of kinds, which tells
  effect of `-fprint-explicit-kinds` more clearly.

docs/users_guide/using.rst

index e0807a9..e22622e 100644 (file)
@@ -784,13 +784,16 @@ messages and in GHCi:
 
     .. code-block:: none
 
-        ghci> :set -XPolyKinds
-        ghci> data T a = MkT
-        ghci> :t MkT
-        MkT :: forall (k :: Type) (a :: k). T a
-        ghci> :set -fprint-explicit-kinds
-        ghci> :t MkT
-        MkT :: forall (k :: Type) (a :: k). T k a
+           ghci> :set -XPolyKinds
+           ghci> data T a = MkT
+           ghci> :t MkT
+           MkT :: forall (k :: Type) (a :: k). T a
+           ghci> :set -fprint-explicit-kinds
+           ghci> :t MkT
+           MkT :: forall (k :: Type) (a :: k). T k a
+           ghci> :set -XNoPolyKinds
+           ghci> :t MkT
+           MkT :: T * a
 
 .. ghc-flag:: -fprint-explicit-runtime-reps
     :shortdesc: Print ``RuntimeRep`` variables in types which are