Provide way to build using existing C compiler on Windows.
authorTamar Christina <tamar@zhox.com>
Sun, 11 Jun 2017 10:40:11 +0000 (11:40 +0100)
committerTamar Christina <tamar@zhox.com>
Fri, 16 Jun 2017 23:49:16 +0000 (00:49 +0100)
commitfda094d000cf2c2874a8205c8212cb83b52259ef
tree38f013140cfdf5b690cd383595534fedbc1117bb
parentdc8e6861dc5586a8222484afc3bd26c432e2d69c
Provide way to build using existing C compiler on Windows.

Summary:
There are various distros that build GHC using their own C compilers
such as MSYS2. Currently they have to patch the build scripts everytime.

This patch provides the configure argument `--enable-distro-toolchain`
which allows one to build using any C compiler on the path.

This is also useful for testing new versions of GCC.

Test Plan:
./configure --enable-distro-toolchain && make - && make THREADS=9 test
./validate

Reviewers: austin, hvr, bgamari

Reviewed By: bgamari

Subscribers: rwbarton, thomie, erikd, #ghc_windows_task_force

GHC Trac Issues: #13792

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D3637
aclocal.m4
configure.ac
docs/users_guide/8.4.1-notes.rst