tentative improvement to callstack docs
authorAlp Mestanogullari <alp@well-typed.com>
Sun, 21 Jan 2018 17:07:58 +0000 (12:07 -0500)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Mon, 22 Jan 2018 03:24:32 +0000 (22:24 -0500)
commitc1050953b28b0e6ff6a749cea6935cc153b62960
tree60dd8853a8086d80209cf1d244d16ab671a6deb1
parent906983caebdc83ed1211231cf6035a2bba15e5e9
tentative improvement to callstack docs

This is an attempt at clarifying the docs for HasCallStack in both the
user guide and libraries/base/GHC/Stack/Types.hs. The example used right
now is built around an hypothetical 'error' function that doesn't itself
print call stacks, and the fact that this doesn't hold makes it all
confusing, see #14635.

Reviewers: hvr, bgamari

Reviewed By: bgamari

Subscribers: rwbarton, thomie, carter

GHC Trac Issues: #14635

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D4317
docs/users_guide/glasgow_exts.rst
libraries/base/GHC/Stack/Types.hs