Revert "The test runner now also works under the msys-native Python."
authorThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Thu, 4 Jun 2015 08:49:51 +0000 (10:49 +0200)
committerThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Tue, 9 Jun 2015 11:23:23 +0000 (13:23 +0200)
commitbb9967121f2383b857680b47b6bc20607f8fd1ff
treebc60252f0beeff0fac29635c8603469043a5bc2c
parent3b55659d4f54e503f4e550d762bc55a2650ed13d
Revert "The test runner now also works under the msys-native Python."

To make the test runner work under msys-native Python...

Commit 5258566ee5c89aa757b0cf1433169346319c018f broke the msys testsuite
driver (#10441). It changed the quoting of `config.compiler` from single
quotes to double quote, which turns out to not be compatible with what
the function `passThroughCmd` expected.

We could fix `passThroughCmd` to handle the case where `config.compiler`
is double quoted, and scatter some notes around to make sure the quoting
done in various places of the testsuite driver stay compatible.

Instead, this commit reverts 101c62e26286353dd3fac1ef54323529b64c9902,
which introdced the function `passThroughCmd` in the first place
(#9626). ezyang reports that doing this revert fixes the testsuite
driver for him using the the following version of msys2:

  msys2-keyring r8.3864337-1
  msys2-runtime 2.1.0.16351.cd3184b-1
  msys2-runtime-devel 2.1.0.16351.cd3184b-1
  msys2-w32api-headers 5.0.0.4456.c8b6742-1
  msys2-w32api-runtime 5.0.0.4455.32db221-1

Ideally we'd know what minimum version of msys2 we require, but for now
this fix is better than nothing.

Only gintas ever reported the original problem, and he actually
mentioned shortly afterwards: "This may have been fixed by a recent
release of msys2, but I am not sure."

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D952
testsuite/driver/testlib.py
testsuite/mk/test.mk