Add a new traceMarker# primop for use in profiling output
authorDuncan Coutts <duncan@well-typed.com>
Sun, 14 Oct 2012 23:52:32 +0000 (00:52 +0100)
committerDuncan Coutts <duncan@well-typed.com>
Mon, 15 Oct 2012 11:28:29 +0000 (12:28 +0100)
commita609027da31c7c9103d8b9741ba3fc6807b7b7b9
treed0e5340b10ef2d2e3935c3d682e3b35e4737d1ac
parent8af2d940c786136a29a061fa9542e39f65e6d6fb
Add a new traceMarker# primop for use in profiling output

In time-based profiling visualisations (e.g. heap profiles and ThreadScope)
it would be useful to be able to mark particular points in the execution and
have those points in time marked in the visualisation.

The traceMarker# primop currently emits an event into the eventlog. In
principle it could be extended to do something in the heap profiling too.
compiler/prelude/primops.txt.pp
includes/rts/EventLogFormat.h
includes/stg/MiscClosures.h
rts/Linker.c
rts/PrimOps.cmm
rts/RtsProbes.d
rts/Trace.c
rts/Trace.h
rts/eventlog/EventLog.c
rts/eventlog/EventLog.h