rts: Rip out support for STM invariants
authorBen Gamari <bgamari.foss@gmail.com>
Sat, 2 Jun 2018 15:48:39 +0000 (11:48 -0400)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Sat, 2 Jun 2018 23:04:52 +0000 (19:04 -0400)
commita122d4fdd0a5858e44f9d3be90a258903e0288b2
tree731c1a7954d5347d2b6195527cfdf344a083d9bc
parent9ea45963ad2ef2051ca3689562607eb4916d65e8
rts: Rip out support for STM invariants

This feature has some very serious correctness issues (#14310),
introduces a great deal of complexity, and hasn't seen wide usage.
Consequently we are removing it, as proposed in Proposal #77 [1]. This
is heavily based on a patch from fryguybob.

Updates stm submodule.

[1] https://github.com/ghc-proposals/ghc-proposals/pull/77

Test Plan: Validate

Reviewers: erikd, simonmar, hvr

Reviewed By: simonmar

Subscribers: rwbarton, thomie, carter

GHC Trac Issues: #14310

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D4760
21 files changed:
compiler/prelude/primops.txt.pp
docs/users_guide/8.6.1-notes.rst
includes/Cmm.h
includes/rts/storage/Closures.h
includes/stg/MiscClosures.h
libraries/base/GHC/Conc.hs
libraries/base/GHC/Conc/Sync.hs
libraries/base/changelog.md
libraries/stm
rts/Capability.c
rts/Capability.h
rts/Exception.cmm
rts/PrimOps.cmm
rts/RtsSymbols.c
rts/STM.c
rts/STM.h
rts/StgMiscClosures.cmm
rts/sm/GC.c
rts/sm/GC.h
rts/sm/Scav.c
utils/deriveConstants/Main.hs