Refactor the kind-checking of tyvar binders
authorSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 12:20:59 +0000 (13:20 +0100)
committerSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 12:21:33 +0000 (13:21 +0100)
commit9fc40c733ba8822a04bd92883801b214dee099ca
treebd25792d9049adec9c77d3429cc13725026276ff
parent95324f01636d0d15a94742b2f4ce43cf4c8af3e2
Refactor the kind-checking of tyvar binders

The refactoring here is driven by the ghastly mess described in
comment:24 of Trac #1520.  The overall goal is to simplify the
kind-checking of typev-variable binders, and in particular to narrow
the use of the "in-scope tyvar binder" stuff,
which is needed only for associated types: see the new
Note [Kind-checking tyvar binders for associated types] in TcHsType.

Now

* The "in-scope tyvar binder" stuff is done only in
     - kcLHsQTyVars, which is used for the LHsQTyVars of a
       data/newtype, or type family declaration.

     - tcFamTyPats, which is used for associated family instances;
       it now calls tcImplicitQTKBndrs, which in turn usese
       newFlexiKindedQTyVar

* tcExpicitTKBndrs (which is used only for function signatures,
  data con signatures, pattern synonym signatures, and expression
  type signatures) now does not go via the "in-scope tyvar binder"
  stuff at all.

While I'm still not happy with all this code, the code is generally
simpler, and I think this is a useful step forward. It does cure
the problem too.

(It's hard to trigger the problem in vanilla Haskell code, because
the renamer would normally use different names for nested binders,
so I can't offer a test.)
compiler/hsSyn/HsDecls.hs
compiler/typecheck/TcHsType.hs
compiler/typecheck/TcTyClsDecls.hs