Detect linker information at runtime. Fixes Trac #6063
authorAustin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
Sat, 4 May 2013 21:07:22 +0000 (16:07 -0500)
committerAustin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
Mon, 17 Jun 2013 01:01:25 +0000 (20:01 -0500)
commit71a194d8ca2efd075a5c000be0b378c8706ca0b3
tree2bc67fdf845354bbe4fb0b3f729b0e8c054dc8ca
parentb097dc9a25f986f0a07dcd2ad1e7fdeeac63198a
Detect linker information at runtime. Fixes Trac #6063

Previously, we did ./configure time checks to see if 'GNU ld' supported
certain options. If it does, we bake those options into the link step.
See Trac #5240.

Unfortunately, the linker we use at runtime can change for several
reasons. One is that the user specifies -pgml 'foo'. The other is if
/usr/bin/ld or whatnot changes from when GHC was built.  Those options
mentioned earlier are specific to GNU ld, but many systems support GNU
gold too. This is Trac #6063.

So we need to check at runtime what linker we're using. This is actually
a little bit complicated because we normally use the C compiler as our
linker. Windows and OS X are also special here.

Finally, this patch also unconditionally gives '--hash-size=31' and
'--reduce-memory-overheads' to the system linker if it's GNU ld. These
options have been supported for 8+ years from what I can see, and there
are probably a lot of other reasons why GHC would not work with such an
ancient binutils, all things considered.

See Note [Run-time linker info] in SysTools for details. There are
plenty of comments as well in the surrounding code.

Signed-off-by: Austin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
aclocal.m4
compiler/main/DynFlags.hs
compiler/main/SysTools.lhs
configure.ac
distrib/configure.ac.in