Build system: detect when user cloned from GitHub
authorThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Mon, 7 Sep 2015 13:28:30 +0000 (15:28 +0200)
committerThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Tue, 8 Sep 2015 08:05:15 +0000 (10:05 +0200)
commit554be5e7959da47ba28fe36b403b9af3210448c1
treeaeff5845ecdc911b3047bde8e80c4012ae175949
parentc6b82e99f41e03d4b101b3a32312defad711f56a
Build system: detect when user cloned from GitHub

Cloning the ghc repository from GitHub doesn't work out of the box. It
requires installing some special url rewrites into ~/.gitconfig. The
build fails mysteriously if you forget. This patch tries to detect when
you cloned from GitHub, and warns you if you didn't set those url
rewrites.

This hopefully lowers to barrier to contribute to GHC by a tiny bit. At
least one /r/haskell user ran into this recently.

Test Plan:
cloned from github, ran ./boot, saw the message. Installed url
rewrites, and ran ./boot again, didn't see the message.

Reviewed by: austin

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1230
boot