Enable RemoteGHCi on Windows
authorTamar Christina <tamar@zhox.com>
Wed, 27 Jan 2016 09:20:11 +0000 (10:20 +0100)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Wed, 27 Jan 2016 09:26:47 +0000 (10:26 +0100)
commit44a5d51a4892b85c7eba09dcb90ca02245637812
tree4150f6359e80bcb8ba0aabf99cefc23bcab8f07f
parente2bdf03a63b09feabee76e2efd33eb56739324ac
Enable RemoteGHCi on Windows

Makes the needed changes to make RemoteGHCi work on Windows.
The approach passes OS Handles areound instead of the Posix Fd
as on Linux.

The reason is that I could not find any real documentation about
the behaviour of Windows w.r.t inheritance and Posix FDs.

The implementation with Fd did not seem to be able to find the Fd
in the child process. Instead I'm using the much better documented
approach of passing inheriting handles.

This requires a small modification to the `process` library.
https://github.com/haskell/process/pull/52

Test Plan: ./validate On Windows x86_64

Reviewers: thomie, erikd, bgamari, simonmar, austin, hvr

Reviewed By: simonmar

Subscribers: #ghc_windows_task_force

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1836

GHC Trac Issues: #11100
.gitignore
compiler/ghci/GHCi.hs
compiler/main/DynFlags.hs
ghc.mk
iserv/cbits/iservmain.c [moved from iserv/iservmain.c with 100% similarity]
iserv/iserv-bin.cabal
iserv/src/GHCi/Utils.hsc [new file with mode: 0644]
iserv/src/Main.hs [moved from iserv/Main.hs with 94% similarity]
mk/warnings.mk