Default RuntimeRep variables unless -fprint-explicit-runtime-reps
authorBen Gamari <bgamari.foss@gmail.com>
Thu, 24 Mar 2016 10:39:59 +0000 (11:39 +0100)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Thu, 24 Mar 2016 11:29:42 +0000 (12:29 +0100)
commit371608f1cdaf20c49eb6c5ec165b9eb08b745a89
tree65cd080f700448034e4206223852ae1a201a86fb
parent1448f8ab2379452312f1f74f6d5ba4de8ad3d47e
Default RuntimeRep variables unless -fprint-explicit-runtime-reps

Summary:
Addresses #11549 by defaulting `RuntimeRep` variables to `PtrRepLifted`
and adding a new compiler flag `-fprint-explicit-runtime-reps` to
disable this behavior.

This is just a guess at the right way to go about this. If it's
wrong-beyond-any-hope just say so.

Test Plan: Working on a testcase

Reviewers: goldfire, austin

Subscribers: simonpj, thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1961

GHC Trac Issues: #11549
compiler/main/DynFlags.hs
compiler/prelude/TysWiredIn.hs-boot
compiler/types/TyCoRep.hs
docs/users_guide/using.rst
testsuite/tests/dependent/ghci/T11549.script [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/dependent/ghci/T11549.stdout [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/dependent/ghci/all.T [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/dependent/should_fail/TypeSkolEscape.stderr
testsuite/tests/ghci/scripts/T7627.stdout
utils/mkUserGuidePart/Options/Verbosity.hs