Kill the magic of Any
authorBen Gamari <bgamari.foss@gmail.com>
Wed, 30 Mar 2016 19:58:24 +0000 (21:58 +0200)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Wed, 30 Mar 2016 20:49:06 +0000 (22:49 +0200)
commit24d761531cfc18152598becc0aeb90376fd19198
tree93d6ee4f711c48f32d6fc6d45f2afb97cbc4275e
parentbc953fcdbc76ffbb4f06a2b74be271268f73328f
Kill the magic of Any

This turns `Any` into a standard wired-in type family defined in
`GHC.Types`, instead its current incarnation as a magical creature
provided by the `GHC.Prim`.  Also kill `AnyK`.

See #10886.

Test Plan: Validate

Reviewers: simonpj, goldfire, austin, hvr

Reviewed By: simonpj

Subscribers: goldfire, thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D2049

GHC Trac Issues: #10886
compiler/prelude/PrelNames.hs
compiler/prelude/TysPrim.hs
compiler/prelude/TysWiredIn.hs
compiler/prelude/primops.txt.pp
compiler/specialise/Rules.hs
libraries/base/GHC/Exts.hs
libraries/ghc-prim/GHC/Types.hs
testsuite/tests/simplCore/should_run/T5441a.hs
testsuite/tests/stranal/should_compile/T9208.hs