ghc-prim : Hide 64 bit primops when the word size is 32 bits (fixes #9886).
authorErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Thu, 5 Mar 2015 08:39:16 +0000 (19:39 +1100)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Tue, 10 Mar 2015 06:57:41 +0000 (17:57 +1100)
commit19440ae2bb256f75934949ae57934caee3831a80
tree67703aeac268313d10b581fd67d4b1c4a8c8e0cf
parentc1db477151c2c1a330081fd0b4aab29bd85b636f
ghc-prim : Hide 64 bit primops when the word size is 32 bits (fixes #9886).

Summary:
These primops were failing to compile on PowerPC (32 bit). There is also
currently no way to call into these primops from Haskell code. Currently,
the *only* way to call any of these C hs_atomic_* functions is via the
fetch*IntArray primops which are only defined for Int values and Int is
always the native word size.

When these functions can be called (and tested) from Haskell code, then
it will be worth while implementing them.

Test Plan:
    Compile and run on x86, x86_64, powerpc and arm:
    testsuite/tests/concurrent/should_run/AtomicPrimops.hs

Reviewers: tibbe, austin

Subscribers: thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D702

GHC Trac Issues: #9886
libraries/ghc-prim/cbits/atomic.c