Show: Restore redundant parentheses around records
authorBen Gamari <bgamari.foss@gmail.com>
Thu, 24 Mar 2016 09:54:11 +0000 (10:54 +0100)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Thu, 24 Mar 2016 11:14:10 +0000 (12:14 +0100)
commit1448f8ab2379452312f1f74f6d5ba4de8ad3d47e
tree9bdbaae957da77bc6af73a6df525213d66ac2f19
parentef653f1f819e5213f7a2a7ea1b78e3fa76c66c8e
Show: Restore redundant parentheses around records

As discussed in #2530 we are going to continue to produce parentheses
here in order to preserve compatibility with previous GHC releases. It
was found that dropped parentheses would break some testsuites which
compared against output from Show. This has been documented in the users
guide.

This reverts commit 5692643c9d17e746327588cd6157a923642b7975.

Test Plan: Validate

Reviewers: hvr, austin

Subscribers: thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D2027

GHC Trac Issues: #2350
compiler/hsSyn/HsExpr.hs
compiler/typecheck/TcGenDeriv.hs
docs/users_guide/bugs.rst
testsuite/tests/codeGen/should_run/T7953.stdout
testsuite/tests/deriving/should_run/drvrun020.stdout
testsuite/tests/ghc-api/annotations-literals/literals.stdout